Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Excellent basic sauce. I eliminated cinnamon and substituted red pepper flakes for the black pepper. I cooked the sauce for about 30 minutes to try to thicken, and I also ran the finished product through a food mill to remove the seeds and any remaining chunks, as we prefer a smooth pizza sauce. The flavor is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used it over store bought ravioli, and it was delicious! I omitted the cinnamon and didn't have parsley, so I am not sure how it'd be with those things in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe! Just perfect to put as a base for the pizza, under all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Fresh tasting, good sauce. I will come back to this time and again. I did modify it somewhat; I used canned fire roasted tomatoes since fresh are not in season. I prepared in a saute pan, starting with the garlic in a bit of oil and adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was delicious and easy to make, and a nice change from the typical tomato sauce pizza covering. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I though this was very tasty as is, but you can certainly do more/less to it. I added onion and hot pepper, and definitely altered all the other ingredients according to taste. I did not use sugar. I plan on cooking it up and using the leftover in some kind of pasta casserole deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I didn't really like how this pizza sauce turned out. If you do make this I would leave the cinnamon out. We thought it ruined the whole sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We love this sauce. Fresh-tasting and flavorful. Plus, easy to make. Extra freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I used 6 whole Roma tomatoes and added a teaspoon of red pepper flakes- the whole tomatoes and the red pepper added what the original recipe lacked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chqsummerbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States