Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This sauce is perfectly awesome if you cook it down after blending. Brought it to a boil then simmered on low for an hour or so. It gets thicker and the flavors are richer. I did omit the cinnamon...seemed a bit odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Excellent basic sauce. I eliminated cinnamon and substituted red pepper flakes for the black pepper. I cooked the sauce for about 30 minutes to try to thicken, and I also ran the finished product through a food mill to remove the seeds and any remaining chunks, as we prefer a smooth pizza sauce. The flavor is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used it over store bought ravioli, and it was delicious! I omitted the cinnamon and didn't have parsley, so I am not sure how it'd be with those things in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe! Just perfect to put as a base for the pizza, under all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Fresh tasting, good sauce. I will come back to this time and again. I did modify it somewhat; I used canned fire roasted tomatoes since fresh are not in season. I prepared in a saute pan, starting with the garlic in a bit of oil and adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was delicious and easy to make, and a nice change from the typical tomato sauce pizza covering. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I though this was very tasty as is, but you can certainly do more/less to it. I added onion and hot pepper, and definitely altered all the other ingredients according to taste. I did not use sugar. I plan on cooking it up and using the leftover in some kind of pasta casserole deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I didn't really like how this pizza sauce turned out. If you do make this I would leave the cinnamon out. We thought it ruined the whole sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We love this sauce. Fresh-tasting and flavorful. Plus, easy to make. Extra freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States