Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is the first pizza sauce i ever tried with fresh tomatoes. I used Roma tomatoes and I did not have fresh spices so I used jars. I really like the consistency of this after I put it in the processor. The only thing I would change was the Cinnamon. I did not like the flavor of it in the sauce. Otherwise, it was great and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I was a little worried about it at first. But as it sit a little while the flavor was great. everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was a really interesting sauce. I used tomato sauce, 8 oz. can. instead of the tomatoes. The cinnamon gave this an odd flavor at first bite, but it seemed to work after all. I wasn't sure whether I liked the cinnamon part of not, it was simply different. No one here commented on the sauce at all, so I suppose they liked it then. Easy to do and really fast too. No cooking time required. I had enough for 2 pizzas and still used only half the sauce. Thanks for sharing this I might make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I love that this can be made totally from scratch, but it sort of had a huskier flavor thatn I expected. Maybe I added too much cinnamon, or that I used 1 TBS of Italian Seasoning instead of the tsp's of basil, parsley and oregano, since that's what I had on hand. I used my blender to make this, since I don't have a food proccesor. I liquified a little and then I pulsed it to break up the tomatoes, but still leave it chunky enough. To overcome the runniness that others talked about I sqeezed the juice out my tomatoes after cutting off the stems. It was an okay consistency once it baked, and I if my husband were homw when we ate it, I don't think he would have known the diiference. I will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was a good recipe, but it was not for us. I will continue looking, but nice fresh flavors. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
GOOD SAUCE. I didn't have fresh basil though and I used a can of No Salt added tomatoes instead, which I drained somewhat. Thanks , I'll be using this recipe again. I think it will also be nice on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Great fresh taste you don't usually find in pizza sauce. I added a tablespoon of tomato paste after reading the reviews. It was definitely thick enough to spread. My husband thought it might be better even thicker, so next time I'll try 2 tablespoons. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Too runny! I suggest adding cornstarch or really, tomato paste. This stuff mightve been alright for spaghetti sauce, but for pizza, it's not thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUMBLESTUMBLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
great! well done....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Great pizza sauce, dipping sauce. Super easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States