Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious! Also has my hubby's approval!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
love it! i was making a calzone and realized i didn't have any pizza sauce at home and looked and found this one - i had everything at home except for the ripe tomatoes so i just used a can of tomato sauce and left out the oil and it turned out perfectly other than i may have added a little too much cinnamon - be careful! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a wonderful sauce! I love making my own pizza now. Even my hubby likes it and he can get picky about homemade food vs fast food. I don't think I like the fresh tomatoes in it though. I added brown sugar instead of white and it helped a bit. I might have to start using can though. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was very good! I used petite diced tomatoes from a can in place of the fresh & threw it all in my slowcooker w/pre-cooked meatballs for subs(leaving the sauce chunky). I'll def be using this recipe again! Update:made again using fresh roma's & didn't care for it as a pizza sauce....tasted exactly like a local restaurant's salsa recipe, no kidding. Came out very watery & a funky pink color too. If I hadn't made this w/canned & liked it previously, I wouldn't bother with it again. This time around it would get 2 stars :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was wonderful! I don't think we have every had better. I made no changes except I had no fresh, ripe tomatoes. I used some home canned, drained, and then proceeded as written. This has gone in my book of favorites. Used it with the breadmaker pizza dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I had a bunch of home grown tomatoes and I was tired of blts. This recipe was just what I was looking for. It made the best pizza with Jay's pizza crust. Mabe next summer I will try canning some for later. I just didn't have the time this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I tried this sauce the other day when I decided to make an at home pizza. The sauce turned out super tasty! I was alittle scared of the cinnamon, but I have to say that the cinnamon was a great addition, it gave the sauce an extra layer of flavor. I added alittle canned crushed tomatoes, only cause the tomatoes I had on hand weren't extra ripe. All in all great recipe...will recomend to a friend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good! I love all the fresh flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was the first time I made pizza sauce from actual tomatoes from the garden, and I thought it turned out really good. I like it not so chunky, so I ended upblending it fairly smooth and then cooking it briefly on the stove and added some corn starch to thicken it up. I am using it for Chicago style deep dish pizza, and think it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Beware, this recipe calls for way too much salt! I think it would have been good with just a little salt. I ended up having to wipe off the sauce completely to make my pizza edible again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States