Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Not sure why,but mine turned out kind of watery. The taste was amazing though. Saved the remaining mixture and froze it...which I'm sure won't help the watery issue, but it was too good to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant View, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
An excellent sauce but two problems: 1) Far too salty, as several reviewers have noted. Cut the salt by half and you'll do very well. 2) Too watery. Recommend seeding the tomatoes. Otherwise, a delightful blend of fresh spices and tomato flavors. If you want the same old thick, standard pizza sauce, then order Pizza Hut. This sauce is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kosherbakerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This sauce would make an excellent marinara for pasta--it's so fresh tasting! If I make this again, I would cut out some of the salt--I used the amount specified and it was way too salty. Also, as far as use for a pizza sauce, this wasn't quite what I was looking for--its flavor got kind of lost among the rest of the things on the pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Loved it! Used canned tomatoes since they aren't in season right now. Turned out great on some grilled pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great pizza sauce! Used a can of diced tomatoes since that was what I had on hand, two cloves of garlic and dried herbs. Will be using again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchme71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I loved this sauce and so did my kids, who are tough to please. I added a tablespoon of tomato paste and started off by sauteing the paste, olive oil, and all the spices (minus the fresh parsley) for just a minute and then added the tomatoes. I then let it simmer together for a few minutes and added the chopped parsley last. I used what I had in the pantry: canned tomatoes (1 can), dried basil (about a tsp.), and added a little extra sugar (about 1 tsp. total) and used an immersion blender to mix it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYSPRITE
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicious, although texturally it reminded me more of a fresh salsa than the kind of tomato sauce I prefer on pizza. I blended in a little tomato paste and then it was the consistency I was looking for, while retaining the fresh flavor. I did use all fresh herbs, because I had them on hand, which really made the flavor shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faifai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was a really great sauce! It was the first time I'd made my own, and I sort of had to guess at quantities because I wanted to use a jar of diced tomatoes from a farm share box, but it turned out really well and was SUPER EASY to make. I love the hint of cinnamon! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
would give 10 stars if I could. love this!! Between this sauce and fresh homemade crust, I was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Egg Beater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious! Also has my hubby's approval!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States