Pizza Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I am looking forward to making this, yet because my son cannot have egg wrappers, I am considering either using phyllo dough or just broiling some of the pizza mix on toast while I deep fry in the egg wrappers for the rest of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I started making these 20 years ago for my kids and still making them today although I always add diced green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was a little more work for us because we used the Esquisite Pizza Sauce receipe from this site that we like alot. I used egg roll wrappers, but will try won ton wrapper next time. Also, just fried in canola oil in dutch oven since we don't have a deep fryer. (worked just fine & only took a couple of minutes) I'd like to try using a ranch or alfredo type sauce with chicken to see how that goes. I would suggest using a good pizza sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Great recipe! A tiny bit time consuming but definitely worth the effort and I didn't find it to be difficult at all. I think having some experience with working with egg roll wrappers is helpful but even if you don't, once you get used to it it's fairl easy and fun. I personally layered the ingredients and left the pepperoni whole and it worked out great. These are a million times better then any store bought pizza rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crazycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These are soooo good! I have been making these since I was in Hiighschool and made them for a lab for a foods class. You can use any pizza toppings you like for the fillings. Sometimes we used sausage and green pepper just depending on our mood and whose eating them! They are so easy just mixing the sauce and toppings and filling then frying. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Omg I love the ideo of this :) Waiting for my boyfriend to go to the store to buy me pepperoni right now. I'm just going to brush them with water, as I've actually found that to be a BETTER glue when I've made ravioli or pot stickers with wonton wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These turned out even better than I expected them to. I used my own homemade pizza sauce and made ours with our own favorite pizza toppings. They were DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Made these for a snack and to try something new. I love pizza and the texture of egg roll wrappers when fried so trying this was a no brainer. They taste soooo good! Cheesy, crunchy and chewy rolled up in tomato goodness! A definite guilty treat! Everyone in the house cleaned the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
For me, short story - won't be making again. Long story - I loved the idea. From the start, just couldnt get a good roll going. Tablespoon was waaay too much but may be my egg rolls were small but they were the only ones my grocery carried so I am stuck with that size. So I resigned to the fact that I would make pizza rectangles with about half a tablespoon of filling. So I made a production line which worked great. Made about 6 at a time. Frying went okay until one would ooze out. Then there were little floaties getting too dark that I would have to fish out. Some would stick to the "rolls" so I would have to take a brush and brush them off. While the flavor was okay I thought, the amount of work was just more than I care for, for the end result. The teenagers said they were okay but hardly any filling. So all the extra stuff I dirtied up, the large amount of oil that I dont think I can use for anything else now because of the burning filling floaties, just wasnt worth it for me and the amount of time it took from preparation to end of clean up. I probably have $10 tied up in these 20 and would just rather buy them at the store. But many people seem to make it work okay, so I would say it is worth a try. But once was enough for me. But still love the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
The taste was good, but mine did not stay together. Maybe I rolled them wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States