Pizza Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made my own homemade pizza sauce and I chopped the pepperoni and folded it into the pizza sauce before I spread it onto the crescent roll dough. These were inhaled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Just ok. I'm a sauce lover and you really can't put a ton of sauce in them before rolling or it'll be super messy. BUT - that's just my personal taste. I did dip them in pizza sauce afterwards, but it wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
1/2012: very good. i used the food processor with the pepparoni and mozz. worked out well. i also tried buffalo ckn and taco...not as good. egg wash yes. 1/14 made again and it was flat, never puffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made this for the first time last week, and it was amazing. I made a a couple of alterations. I sliced the pepperoni into smaller pieces, and instead of using the sauce as a dip, I spread it on the dough before I placed down the cheese and pepperoni. It's a bit messy, and like others have said, it is a really good idea to sit these in the freezer/fridge for 10-20 minutes before cutting into them. I experimented and used canadian bacon and cheese on another batch, and they turned out amazing as well. You could definetly freeze these for the future. They're very pretty, if you cut them right, I had a few that turned into puffy globs after baking, but they were good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These were good, but should DEFINITELY be made exactly according to the recipe! Based on some reviews, I tried putting sauce inside the rolls, and it was a mess. Not only did it become extremely hard to roll them, but all the cheese and meat slipped out during baking or eating, and they didn't freeze well with the sauce inside. I made the second batch according to the recipe and they were much easier to make, freeze, and eat... plus they were tastier! Not a 5 star app but a decent easy-to-make finger food. Very versatile too- I made some with ham and cheddar that were honestly better than the pizza ones, and I'm sure I'll use this recipe for more flavor combos in the future. Tips: Marinara or ranch are great dipping sauces. One 24oz package of pepperoni allowed me to make 4 cans of crescents. The thicker they are cut after you roll them, the better they are. If you cut them too thin, all of the filling will ooze out when you bake them and you'll be left with nothing but a mess. And using the seamless pillsbury recipe creations sheets (cut into 4 rectangles) worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These were so delicious and simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These were pretty good, much better when served warm. They were very easy to make. I will make again when I need a quick easy appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I did not care for this. The three of us took only one bite. The dough doesn't mix well with the ingredients. Avoid avoid avoid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Schmitt Monahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is a fun and easy recipe that I have used often. I did make two changes. One is I brush egg whites on top to help them brown evenly. Two, I sprinkled italian seasoning over the roll. Also, I sometimes do not cut them into pinwheels. My children will eat them whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie73cats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
So yummy! What a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States