Pizza Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
DELICIOUS! I only have a few suggestions: I like my pepperoni a little crispy so the next time I make this I will cook the hamburger and pepperoni together. Drain it then add the rest of ingredients. (My pepperoni was just too soggy.) I also put the cheese on top and then topped with more pepperoni. It just gave it a nice presentation. And lastly, you will definately need more spegetti sauce. I added 3/4 of another jar. My 5 year old loved this recipe. Next time I will make some garlic bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
A good tip to cut down on the greasiness of the pepperoni is to microwave the slices between paper towels for 30 seconds. The slices are still pliable and you wont be adding all that fat into the casserole. As written the recipe is pretty basic, I wanted to punch up the flavor. I cooked the beef, drained the fat and added chunks of red onion, minced garlic, red pepper flakes and oregano. I cooked that just for a minute or two. I used a pound of pasta because I think just 8 ounces is not enough for all of the meat in the recipe. I added sliced black olives also. It turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I was looking for supper ideas and I found this recipe. It was so good! It was like a lasagna-type casserole. I browned the ground beef with seasoning salt, a dash of chili powder, hot sauce, and Italian seasoning. I added chopped pepperoni to the beef as well as chopped red onion, browned it all together, then added the mixture to the rotini with a jar of pasta sauce mixed with hot sauce. I topped it with mozza and a bit of cheddar, and sprinkled with a bit more Italian seasoning. I took the casserole out when the cheese was browned, and I sprinkled parmesan cheese on top. This recipe is basic and can very easily be tweaked, you don't have to follow the directions to the t if you don't want to. Next time I will add mushrooms and peppers to the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
This was a very good basic dish and my son and husband liked it. I added Italian sausage and fresh mushrooms and it was very good. I also froze a portion of the casserole before baking; I thawed it later and baked, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
My whole family loved this recipe. The sliced pepperoni was sticking together when I mixed it in though. So, I placed in on top before putting on the cheese, and that worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Pretty good recipe. I was in a pinch for dinner, so I decided to try this one out. I used whole grain rotini pasta instead of regular. I used two 15 oz cans tomato sauce instead of the jar of spaghetti sauce (I didn't experience any dryness this way). I also used 2 cups mozerella along with about a cup of cheddar, and this turned out to be perfect. I didn't have any pepperoni, but neither I or my husband really missed them. My husband also doesn't like biting into onions, so I just used onion & garlic powder along with some Italian seasoning. I cooked the ground beef in extra virgin olive oil and we both agreed it was a good choice. The end result was tasty enough and easy to make. Next time I will toy around more with the seasoning. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is a very decent dish! My 7YO had 3 helpings, while my 2YO vacuum barely ate. I agreed with other users and used a full 16 oz bag of pasta (shells) and 1-28 oz can of pasta sauce mixed with 1 jar of pizza sauce. I added onion, bell pepper, and more italian seasonings. I used the stated amount of cheese. We definitely enjoyed it--I made two 8x8 pans...one for dinner and one to freeze. This recipe still needs something though. I will keep this recipe and play with it each time. Thanks for a great kick-start recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was VERY easy to make and tasted great! My husband and five year old son absolutely loved it! I added some extra sauce and extra cheese, not to say it needed it though! I just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
My family really enjoyed this. I skipped the pepperoni cuz most of us don't like it. However for a little more pizzaz I may add it next time, just finely chopped so the kids don't find it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5galsandadad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was a great dish. I used pizza sauce instead of spagetti sauce to give it more pizza flavor. I also have kids who are not big fans of pepparoni so I bought the mini ones already cut up from the bag. They loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States