Pizza Pasta by Johnsonville® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
My family thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I added a chopped red bell pepper and managed to sneak in some chopped spinach as well. The sausage added great flavor to the dish. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
We are pizza lovers. This was simple and tasted great! My son didn't like the black olives, but they were east to pick out because they were on top. We will definitely make again and experiment with different toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Tonight we had the BEST comfort food! The biggest change I made to the recipe was to use Trader Joe's Traditional Marinara Sauce. Then because I was so stoked to find three (yes, three!) Johnsonville products that do NOT contain MSG that I added a little of each of the three---All Natural Ground Mild Italian Sausage, All Natural Ground Hot Italian Sausage, and 3 Cheese Italian Chicken Sausage! I cooked all three sausages and drained them in paper towels before adding them to a wonderful little baking dish that I have been gifted. I combined all the ingredients and baked them for about half an hour at 350. Yum! This is a keeper for us! Thanks, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Have been making similar recipes to this one for years and they have been lacking in flavor. Using the Johnsonville sausage filled that gap. Added mushrooms, as is our flavor, and this is a WIN! recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
We really loved this! The only change I made was adding a can of mushrooms to it. Next time, I might add pepperoni and onion as well...we like our "pizza" pretty loaded. This is sure to become a new weeknight favorite in your household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My household approved of it!! Yum! I added onions to it. Next time I will probably add in some pepperoni and perhaps a bit more pizza sauce. The flavors came together so well. We served it with garlic bread and it was so quiet during dinner - they were too busy eating! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was super yummy. The mild Italian sausage really added a great flavor to this dish. I didn't have a green pepper on hand but I added some diced onion. Tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
After an abnormally long commute home, I was in a hurry to get dinner on the table before everyone else came home hungry. This is a very quick and easy weeknight meal, which is plenty in my house! I cheated just a little, though, to save on dish cleanup. I cooked my sausage, drained it, and then added the green peppers and some eggplant (I needed to use it up!) in the same skillet. Then I added the sauce directly to the skillet, followed by the cooked pasta. Finally, I used fresh mozzarella (again, needed to use it) and left out the olives. I saved a dirty casserole dish and just made it all on the stovetop! I also used whole-wheat rotini and thought it came out nicely. It's a great recipe to play with depending on what your family likes on their pizza...or, in our case, depending on what produce needs to be eaten before it goes bad on the countertop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
We both enjoyed this one. The pizza sauce I used was a little thick, so I did add water to it because I knew the pasta would absorb it. I also like to simmer the sauce with the sausage added for about an hour so the flavor of the sausage infuses the sauce. Another tip....do use freshly grated mozzarella. I used the pre-shredded, and it didn't melt as well as I would've liked. A really good and easy recipe. Thanks again, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Loved it! So easy and it does taste like pizza...I used Johnsonville hot sausage, just took the casing off and crumbled it in big pieces! Definitely would make this again....so quick, served with a green salad and garlic bread....done in 30 minutes! I did use green olives because its what I had on hand....make it like you like your pizza...I was wishing I had mushrooms! Thank you Johnsonville for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States