Pizza On The Grill II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
WOW we were expecting something different than usual, but were thrilled by the outcome! Even the 11 yr old who will not eat crust ate ALL of hers! Great way to use the BBQ for a favourite recipe that makes house too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I tried this yesterday and it was much better than I ever expected. Delivery finaly has some real competition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Willis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This recipe is great, though I will need more practice so as not to singe the crust too much. My husband loved it so much that he ate it as soon as it came off the grill - he didn't want to wait to take it to the table. I used the "Pizza Crust for Bread Machine" recipe and made my own sauce; pizza was like what we get at a microbrew pub. Thanks for the recipe, Mathilda! Update: I have made this recipe so many times because we can't get enough of it. I've found that neither the grill nor the bread needs to be oiled, but I keep the pizzas small (6 inches) so they are easy to move around. After cooking the first side, I take them off the grill and add the toppings then put them back on. I use a gas grill with mesquite chips - excellent flavor. I use a combo of mozzarella and smoked gouda cheese, but now we're experimenting with salsa (instead of tomato sauce) and cheddar cheese. This recipe is so fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This is awesome pizza. I followed the recipe exactly. I just used different toppings. The only difficult part is trying to get the raw dough onto the grill. I put it directly on the grill and cooked at the lowest temperature. The grill marks are what makes this pizza worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunbarton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
This was so good. It was a challenge to handle the uncooked dough once the toppings were on. I ended up putting it all on my cookie cooling rack and placing it on the grill under the pizza. That worked and it turned out wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Great! You cannot beat the ease of the recipe and how quick it comes together. Be prepared to accept lots of complements. I like to just brush mine with olive oil (after flipping over) and then adding sliced fresh tomatoes, fresh basil slices and cheese. That's the beauty of this dish, you can do whatever you want to with it and can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
I buy already made pizza crust from a local restaurant. They sell it for $1 a crust, I keep it in the freezer for a nice quick and easy meal. I never would have thought to put it on the grill, thanks for the great idea. It came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
i was skeptical about putting raw dough on my grill but discovered this works! the "pizza dough II" recipe from this website makes a good crust. one important note: earlier this year my boyfriend lined the bottom of his gas grill with ceramic briquettes. i didn't anticipate the temperature increase this would cause & our pizza was burned before we knew it. if you have similiar briquettes you may want to consider lowering the heat to medium-high. hindsight's 20/20. thank you mathilda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Great idea! We tried this the other night and were a little nervous but it turned out good. Make sure you have all of your prep work done, there is no time to waste after you flip the crust over. Also, slice your veggies small/thin. Our mushrooms didn't cook well & the crust was getting too dark to leave on any longer. Next time, I'll slice mine thinner and turn down the heat after flipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I used the roll out pizza crust and it worked great!! Very Easy!! i pre sauteed some mushroomsm, sausage and peperoni before adding them to the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States