Pizza On The Grill II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Loved it! I definitely need some practice to not burn the crust, but what a great idea! I ended up taking it off the grill at the end and sticking it into the oven to broil for a few minutes because the crust was burning. Very good. I used pizza sauce instead and made it 1/2 and 1/2 to suit my boyfriend and I'd preferences. Browned hamburger, pepperoni, and mushrooms on his half... green peppers, mushrooms, and black olives on mine. I can't wait to make this again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I LOVE pizza. I was very intimidated to try pizza on the grill. My only regret is that I waited so long to give it a shot. This was unreal. So easy, and the end result is amazing. I wouldn't think twice about entertaining with this fun, easy recipe. I used pizza dough from a can, and actually cut it in half, so I made two decent sized pizzas. It was also much easier to work with. It cooked for a total of 10 mins, about 3-4 mins on the first side and the remaining after the toppings were added. As others said, you do have to work quickly when topping, and be sure they are chopped as thin as possible. Once again, this was such a surprise! You too can now grill pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leadville, Colorado, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was fun but as one reviewer said, have all your ingredients out and ready. You have to work quickly. My husband loved the smokey flavor of these pizzas. The kids prefer pizza cooked in the oven without the black grill marks, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
So super easy & yummy! Everyone @ the cookout enjoyed a change from burgers!! I would DEFINATELY recommend this simply great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smllover
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Finally! A recipe that makes me want to make pizza at home rather than order out. I made my own crust, and made my own sauce. Really, I didn't use anything that the recipe suggests. I just used the guidelines on how to grill the pizza. It was fantastic. The grill gives the crust a nice smokey flavor. Even the one that got a little too done was delish. And all 3 kids liked it a lot! That makes it a keeper right there. The only thing I'd change is I'd turn down the heat - high heat seems a bit like overkill. My crust burned so quickly. I did the others on med-high and that worked fine. We'll be making this quite often. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I love grill pizza! (Keep in mind that many grocery stores sell bags of pizza dough so you don't have to buy that stuff in a tube.) I grilled my well oiled dough on one side for just a min or so (our grill cooks super hot) and then flipped and topped with pesto, mozz and sliced tomatoes. Awesome!! Also make a normal one with sauce and cheese for the kiddos. SO much better than baking in the oven. No sog and doesn't heat up your house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This is awesome pizza. I followed the recipe exactly. I just used different toppings. The only difficult part is trying to get the raw dough onto the grill. I put it directly on the grill and cooked at the lowest temperature. The grill marks are what makes this pizza worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunbarton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I used a bread machine to make the dough, and discovered that I prefer to put the toppings on the side that starts away from the flames. The side that faces the heat came out nice and flat, and the side that starts out away from the heat bubbles up and forms nice little cups and pockets to nestle the toppings and sauce in. So, I get the first side started just a bit, then flip to toast the other side BRIEFLY then flip back to top and fill. You can top it with more stuff with this type dough because it rises more and makes a sturdier crust. To finish a loaded 'za, just pop it in the oven broiler a few seconds to melt the top a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This recipe is great, though I will need more practice so as not to singe the crust too much. My husband loved it so much that he ate it as soon as it came off the grill - he didn't want to wait to take it to the table. I used the "Pizza Crust for Bread Machine" recipe and made my own sauce; pizza was like what we get at a microbrew pub. Thanks for the recipe, Mathilda! Update: I have made this recipe so many times because we can't get enough of it. I've found that neither the grill nor the bread needs to be oiled, but I keep the pizzas small (6 inches) so they are easy to move around. After cooking the first side, I take them off the grill and add the toppings then put them back on. I use a gas grill with mesquite chips - excellent flavor. I use a combo of mozzarella and smoked gouda cheese, but now we're experimenting with salsa (instead of tomato sauce) and cheddar cheese. This recipe is so fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I tried this yesterday and it was much better than I ever expected. Delivery finaly has some real competition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Willis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States