Pizza On The Grill I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is a fun one for the kids to watch and to "make" their own pizza for dinner. I make it with Rapid rise yeast to speed up the process and I get all the toppings ready in separate bowls on a baking sheet to take to the grill. This is a fun recipe, try it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe! Other users have given some great tips to achieve perfection. My tip is only to be used in a rush. My wife and I had company over, BBQ fired and ready to go, but somehow ruined the dough in the bread maker. So in a panic I ran out to the store and purchased pillsbury pizza dough in a can to substitute. Although not as good as the recipe, it made an awesome pizza and still impressed our guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
SO good! I make homemade dough/pizza from time to time which is usually pretty good but this was better. We loved this particular dough and how easy it really was to make on the grill. We used the tinfoil with flour tip posted by another user. We are having a super small wedding in a couple weeks, and decided to cook a bunch of these at up for our guests the night before the big day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
We had mixed reviews at my house. My homemade pizza gets rave reviews from my family and friends (I use the Quick and Easy Pizza Crust recipe by Chef Rider, adding in basil, oregano, and dried onion flakes; and I use a pizza sauce recipe I got from a magazine on homes and gardening last November), so I went ahead and used that. We had never grilled pizza before, so it was a little awkward at first, but my husband and I got a routine going. The first two got a little burned, but then he started turning it a few times and watching it closer. I always triple the dough recipe, so this made 4 medium pizzas on the grill. The general opinion is that it is good but for all the extra work (at least it was work for us) we'd stick wtih baking it on the pizza stone in the oven. We didn't know how to get the vegetables on top done, but crispy still tasted good. Quite frankly, by the time I had eaten two pieces, I was tired of the grilled flavor and wanting the regular pizza taste. I had a pizza box from my son's bought pizza last night, so I cut the top off and used the two pieces to transport the dough to and from the grill. That worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by foodgeek
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
So easy to make and the crust is lovely, infused with the smokiness of the grill. Fior di latte (fresh mozzarella) is a must for the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
The dough is one I've been using for years, but I add dried oregano and basil as well as the garlic, then just spread a little regular tomato sauce on the crust when it is time to top it. No need to use a jarred sauce. I also double the recipe...which makes 5 pizzas. I use about a square foot of reynolds heavy duty non stick foil per pizza. No need for oil or flour on the foil it will just slide right off when its cooked. I didn't really want the grill marks, I just didn't want to heat up my house. I didn't heat the grill on high. I got it up to about 250 degrees, and when it was done on one side I slid the foil onto a platter and took it in the house to flip and pile toppings on. I probably had it on for about 8 min. on the first side. I piled on the toppings, and let it stay on prob another 8 min or so until the cheese was melted. Having it on medium the whole time made sure the pizza was cooked all the way through and everything got melted together. I was a little concerned about the pizza dough being to thin. If you want thin crust make sure to practically be able to see through it, because it will puff up alot....but my family loves a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Great recipe, the crust turned out better then i expected. I made my own sauce, used a can of stewed tomatoes, tomato paste, oregano, garlic powder and pureed it together. Simple tastey sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Absolutely amazing. Better than restaurant pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
What a great dough. I never have tried making my own pizza dough before. Actually, I try to stay away from yeast because it scares me. Not in a horror film kind of way, but scary in that I like to cook, not bake, so yeast is an unknown (like UFOs or BigFoot). The recipe was easy to follow, each step went exactly as described and the final result was extremely tasty. I did have a bit of trouble with the yeast because none of my local stores had packets of yeast. After I pulled my trusty specs from my purse, was able to see exactly how many teaspoons equaled the packaged amount. Why the heck is the printing on bottles so small? It took a couple tries to get the yeast to foam up. I erred on the side of too cool of water. Well done, Doug. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I make this all the time for large groups because it is easy to customize the individual pizzas for the vegetarians and all food preferences. I have made it over a wood fire with a grate (boat camping). I made it for my adult daughter's birthday party on our housebooat. We put all the "kids" to work chopping, grating, rolling. They loved it! Grill all the vegetables and anything that needs t be cooked, and all the pizzas on one side first. It doesn't matter if it all gets cold because it will all get hot again when you cook the other side. Have each person place all their desired ingredients on the cooked side. Sauce first (we have choice of pesto sauce & red sauce) then ingredients and your favorite cheese over all. Return to the grill to cook the bottom side. P.S. This is a very tasty dough recipe so make your own! (bread machine on dough cycle works great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paradise, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States