Pizza On The Grill I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I had heard of grilled pizza but was afraid to try it. It's quite a production, that after 4 times in 4 weeks, we've got down to a science. The first time he made it he burnt most of the crusts. It definitely helps to have two people working together. I didn't make the crust. I used frozen dough balls from Sams Club thawed, cut in half, and rolled out thin to fit the grill shape. 2 dough balls will give you 4 nice sized pizzas. I also precooked the toppings because you can't let it on long enough to cook them. I use finely shredded cheese because it melts faster. Ragu pizza sauce tastes great. He sprays the grill with a little pam before putting crust on. Husband said we'll never go back to baking them in the oven, even during the winter. You've got to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
We have been making this pizza on our gas grill since last summer and have not cooked one in the oven since! Even though it's winter. My husband just rolls up the garage door and cooks! For those that had trouble, keep working at it. Grill med. hot, put the dough on a sheet of aluminum foil dusted with flour so two people can flip it right on the grill. Slick. I have been baking home made breads and pizza dough for over 30 years so maybe that is why I had no trouble. I don't know but what I do know is we LOVE THIS PIZZA! thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Oh my goodness, is this ever a fabulous way to make homemade pizza! I'm a novice and this was the best I've ever made. I was scared to try it; what if the dough dropped through the grill, etc etc etc?! But it didn't. Held together beautifully. Just follow the instructions that Doug has laid out, and you'll succeed! I did divide my dough into quarters rather than in half so I could have smaller pizzas with varying toppings. Be sure to wait until the dough "puffs" before turning it over; I made them one at a time and actually turned each one over onto a pizza pan to add my toppings. Be sure to have all of your stuff organized and ready to go! Pizza 1: pesto, mozzarella/fontina/parmesan, fresh tomatoes; Pizza 2: jarred red sauce/Italian seasoned sausage/mushrooms/black olives/mozzarella (I made this one double the size of the other two); Pizza 3: jarred red sauce, carmelized onions, mozzarella/fontina/parmesan. All three were great. I rolled the crust out thin and it was wonderfully done on the top and bottom, and crisp on the outside, chewy inside. For a homemade pizza, it's the next best thing to brick oven pizza. I doubled the dough and froze half. You gotta try this method! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
What a great & different way to have pizza! Used floured aluminum foil trick mentioned in previous review and worked great. Kept grill at 250-300 degrees to keep from burning. After flipping, brushed crust w/ garlic-infused oil and topped w/ thin tomato slices, fresh basil & fresh mozzarella slices. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
My dad & I made this together and we had such a great time! We rolled our crusts very thin and made 1 Margherita style with mozzarella, parmesean & fresh basil, the other was pineapple rings & ham. We made the sauce with olive oil, fresh garlic, 4 tomatoes & 1/2 an onion. We simmered it in a pan and added salt & fresh basil before topping the pizzas with it. We're making these again today for our house warming party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I was looking for a recipe for grilled calzones and decided to modify this recipe. Ingredients as specified (included hot sausage and chicken - yummy!) Made 6 8" rounds folded over into calzones and wrapped in foil - 3-5 mins each side on the BBQ and MMMMMM.... just as I was dreaming of... this is good enough to post as its own recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I loved the flavor of the crust, but I made the pizza twice and both times the crust was tough and chewy. I had never made pizza dough before. My first time to use yeast. Could someone please respond here to let me know what I did wrong? I had trouble with the proofing. It took longer than 10 minutes to proof. Maybe old yeast? I used regular salt not kosher, dried basil not fresh, but I think everything else was the same. I'd really appreciate it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
This was wonderful! The wonderful "outdoors" taste that the grill imparts to the pizza truely elevates it to the next level! Cooks very quickly- I pulled mine off the grill and onto a baking sheet while assembling the toppings. Make sure you knock your coals down so it cooks on a lower heat, and evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
OH MY GOSH, I loved this. I will never make another kind of pizza again! The crust is so wonderful and it is not that hard to do. It tastes like a pizza you would order from an italian restaurant! YOU MUST TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
great, very easy... especially for those hot days when you don't want to turn on the oven!!! Be careful not to get the grill too hot, you might burn the 'crust' before the cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States