Pizza On The Grill I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
We've been grilling pizzas for a year now. I make my dough in my bread machine....I use 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour and one cup whole wheat flour to pump up the nutrition. I also discovered a tbl. of poppy seed in the dough makes it deliciously chewy and even tastier! We have not had a commercially-prepared pizza...frozen or restaurant...in over a year. Homemade is the healthy way to enjoy pizza! And we make individual pizzas to grill so he can have meat and cheese and I can have a vegan pizza. Everybody's happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
The fresh basil made this recipe, that and the fact that the house is still cool and we are eating delicious pizza in the middle of summer helps too. I followed the crust recipe and used mostly whole wheat flour. Topped with our own toppings. Be ready to top quickly after flipping. When it seemed like the crust was done, I turned off the grill and left the cover down to really get the toppings nicely heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crick
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
The pizza was pretty good but I think I will need to add some more "spice" to it to make them great. As long as you have everything you need with you at the grill they are pretty easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
AMAZING! Didn't have a chance to make my own dough and bought the one I love at Trader Joe's (I like it better than the Whole Foods one which is breadier). Amazing how quick this turns out something fabulous. The garlic still tasted raw to me, so I saute it on the stove with the olive oil for a few minutes to infuse the oil now. I brush both sides of the crust and then top it with some tomato sauce (also love Trader Joe's pizza sauce) and fresh grated parmesan cheese before piling on shredded mozzarella, tomatoes and feta cheese. I also put some onions on and the sliced garlic for the hubby (on his side of the pizza). This is fantastic and is a real crowd amazer, I can't believe that crust doesn't stick to the grill, but it doesn't! When I first made it and cut it with the pizza wheel, I got sooooo excited when I heard that crunch. Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wonderful recipe! My fussy 21 year old loved it! I have a great BBQ where it gets to 600 degrees fast and then you can turn off the middle grill. I put the lightly olive oiled dough on and grilled it for about 2-3 mins. The dough was dry on top with lovely grill lines on the bottom and oh what a great smell. I then took it off and put olive oil on the dry side and flipped it over and then added toppings etc to the grilled side. Back on the grill with the ungrilled side down for 4 mins at 500 and WOW. Lovely grilled pizza. I think I could even grill some shells ahead of time and freeze them for busy days and dinner would be ready in 10 mins. Never as good as fresh but better than the dry prepared crusts from the store. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I let my KitchenAid mixer and bread hook do the kneading. I kept it in my mixing bowl, covered it loosely with saran rather than the damp towel that was suggested, and set it in a warm spot. After the first hour, it didn't seem to have risen at all and I was nervous I had added too much flour, but I punched it down anyway and let it sit for an hour again. It seemed lighter after the second rising. I quartered the dough and stretched-patted-pulled them into 4 good-sized individual pizzas. Lightly brushed my grill with olive oil, kept the temp around 300 and they were perfect!! I had watched the video tutorial and that made the process less intimidating for the first time! Our "Family Friday Night Pizza Night" will now include grilled pizza! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
OMG! This was absolutely delicious and did not have to heat up the kitchen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYLEE222

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Ok so to start i was really skeptical about the dough falling through the griddle on the grill, that didnt happen. But, a number of other things when wrong. First, we started out with our homemade dough and rolled it out on a pizza baking sheet, it was about the size of a medium pizza from your everyday pizza chain, and when we went to put it on the grill there was no way to pick it up it just stretched like pizza dough should.so then we decided to attempt to flip the baking sheet so the dough would fall onto the grill. Again failure we got a pile of dough that didn't resemble a pizza what so ever. Second, we decided we were trying to make too big of a pizza so we shortened it down to a personal pan size.We got it on the grill and and as stated it cooked that side in about 2 min. We pulled it off added our toppings and placed it back on the grill, and again it about 2 min the bottom was dark brown. So we pulled it off with the assumption that it was done, because there was no way to continue cooking it without burning it completely.Unfortunately once we cut it and took a bite the inside was still doughy, not cooked at all. needless to say we ended up ordering pizza from pizza hut. Keep in mind we were afraid of the dough falling through the cracks so our grill was around 400 degrees, maybe it was too hot. I dont know but if your hoping for a nice meal and your trying this for the first time be warned, you may be ordering out. ps Oiling the grill only causes blazing inferno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is amazing! We used mostly whole wheat flour and it turned out beautiful! The dough will seem really stiff and seem hard to work with, but that is necessary for it to hold up on the grill. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I used the recipe for the dough, but it is really good. It takes a while to make, but if you have the time, I highly recommend making the dough from scratch. It's way better than frozen dough balls. My husband's favorite pizza is Hawaiian Barbecue, so we threw some barbecue sauce, sliced chicken breast, red onions, and pineapple chunks with some mozzarella cheese on top. One of the crusts got a little burnt, but with practice this will be an excellent and fun dinner choice. Even the slightly burnt pizza was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: South Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States