Pizza On The Grill I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
So I'm reviewing just the bread of course, cause toppings are up to the individual cook, ya know? Though I'll be sure to try roasted red peppers and olives eventually, yum. Well, first I want to say that I screwed up the bread in every possible way that it could be screwed up. My big mistake? I mixed up the oil quantities...instead of using the 1/4 c to brush on the bread, I accidentally dumped it in. Oops! It was fine though after I added another 2 TB or so of flour. For the oil to brush on, I used a TB of olive oil and cooked the garlic in a skillet for the oil to get the garlic flavor...microwave, really? I tried both brushing oil on the grill and not, and maybe it's because I'm using a George Foreman indoor grill, but I couldn't detect a flavor difference. And instead of just adding chopped garlic and basil, I think it's a better idea to add a lot of dried herbs to the bread. I added 1/2 a ts of garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, oregano, a pinch of dill. So lovely and seasoned, but I couldn't believe I was completely out of basil. And I think it would be a better idea to roll em out into circles first before the second rising. And seriously, this is not a tomato paste or pizza sauce, or any kind of cooked ingredient topping pizza recipe! It just screams fresh ingredients. I only used chopped tomatoes, red onions, and mozzarella. I store my extra dough in the fridge in individual zip lock bags and plan on using it up within the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
my husband and I loved this! We have tried it many times with different toppings. We did have to precook the pepperoni due to the quick finish time on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I LOVE this grilled pizza! I'm really glad I watched the video, too, 'cause I wouldn't have expected the crust to work. It comes out kinda crusty like gourmet stone-baked pizza. The dough is easy to make and works even if it only rises for an hour. I've used shredded chicken, crumbled burger, turkey pepperoni, etc. for toppings and we never have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was incredible! My husband raved over it and loved that he got to do the grilling part ;) Would be fun for dinner guests to be able to top their own pizzas. Give yourself plenty of time to make the dough, was well worth the effort. Even picky 3yo ate 2 pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
If I can make this>>> Anyone Can!! It was the Yummiest!! Easy Easy!!I topped ours with BBQ chicken.I sprinkled a little chopped onion,basil and jalapeno jack cheese. TOO GOOODD!! Thank you for helping me conquer my fear if grilling pizza!! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
OMG! This is the best pizza ever. I don't know why I never thought about grilling pizza before. I do not add the herbs and garlic into the dough. After I punch down, I form small circles of dough for personal size pies. I top with homemade sauce and whatever toppings the family wants. We have made this about 10 times now and have passed on the recipe to everyone who has tried if. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I too changed a few things to make it even better and easier. After the dough has risen and you punch it down,I make 4 dough sections and roll them out personal pizza size and let them sit on a lightly floured cookie sheet for at least 15 mins. This allows the dough to rest and relax. Then put them on the grill as the recipe says to (the dough will be even more elastic and probably will stretch out more but believe me, this will make the crust even more delicious and crusty). The crusts will cook a bit quicker too so keep an eye on them. I also use Prego traditional for the sauce and I too shred the cheese to help it melt a bit more. Some fresh shred parmesan mixed in with the mozerella makes it really delicious. After the crust has cooked on the first side I also take them off the grill onto the cookie sheet again to quickly put the toppings on and then put them back on the grill. That way, you don't burn your fingers over the grill! I make a double batch of dough and after the first rising, I cut them into quarters and freeze them separately so it's easy to take them out after work and let them come to room temp, then roll them out, let them rest and dinner is ready in 9 mins. My husband loves this and we eat these once a week...at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OliverandBean
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Pizza on the grill is the only way to make it at home. I grilled some sausage, onions and peppers first and then grilled the dough quickly. I assembled the pizza (olive oil, sauce, cheese, fresh basil and garlic and then the sausage and veggies) placed it on a cookie sheet and put it back on the grill for about seven minuets. It was amazing, my Italian neighbor even commented on how great it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OliverandBean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very good; the crust turned out really well; a lot better than the crust I normally make. It was a little heavy from all the toppings, but worked with using two spatulas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Lynn Lazaro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I've never been happy with pizza crust I made in my oven. This is a huge improvement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States