Pizza On The Grill I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is my new favorite recipe and has gone into regular rotation in my house. I read some reviews and made some changes. I cut the dough into 4 small pizzas and cook them two at a time on the grill. They are easier to manuver and flip, and also we can make four different kinds of pizzas. I brush both sides of the crust with the garlic oil instead of the grill. Shape the dough, brush the top with oil, flip it upside down and brush the new top with the oil, let it cook, flip it, then put the toppings on. My husband and I have it down to a science now. I have made the crust in my bread machine as well as by hand. I have made it as written and have left out the garlic and basil in the dough. I have substituted 1/2 of the flour with whole wheat flour. It comes out beautifully each time. Thank you for this recipe. I think it is the best pizza I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This pizza was delicious!!! This was our first time making pizza on the grill, and I already have plans to do so every weekend! I followed the recipe for the dough to the T, and it came out great (doubled the amount of garlic kneaded into the dough). We used our own toppings and we had a turkey pepperoni with red sauce pizza and a tomato basil pesto pizza. Both were delicious! Thanks so much for this fabulous recipe!! Update: I made this dough again tonight, and I brushed the crust with olive oil and sprinkled cornmeal on both sides before throwing it on the grill. Soooo good!!!! The outside had a nice crisp texture from the oil, while the inside was soft. Yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very tasty, but make sure you give it plenty of time to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I was very very pleased with this recipe. The dough is worth the wait. We used 50% whole wheat flour and 50% regular flour. We also rolled it out very very thin. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I just LOVE this recipe. Followed the recipe exactly except for toppings and subbed in 1 cup of whole wheat flour. It turned out fabulously delish. We have used this recipe serveral times and it never disappoints. Whenever we serve to guests, they always ask for the recipe. This is a summer favourite of ours and we enjoy with red wine or a pitcher of sangria. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is so good- I used the crust and method, but my own toppings. I loved the garlic oil! I only used about 1/4 cup of oil. Thanks for submitting this reicpe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelstar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Ok, tip for the dough: Don't add all the flour, leave about 1/2 cup or more out, and use that for kneading it, and knead it longer than it says. Also, I love the grilled pizza flavor, but the toppings never get that crispy, toasty pizza taste, so after several goes we finally tried placing the dough on the grill with toppings (no precooking one side), then throw it on the top rack in the oven and broil it for a few minutes until the crust is golden, and the cheese is toasty and bubbly! WAAAAAYYYY better. Also, I tweaked the crust to make it part wheat, and it was delicious: Use 1 T. olive oil extra, 1 T. sugar and use 1 c. whole wheat flour and 2 c. white flour, (knead with white flour). Roll out and fork to prevent bubbles, then brush both sides with olive oil. YUMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
So I'm reviewing just the bread of course, cause toppings are up to the individual cook, ya know? Though I'll be sure to try roasted red peppers and olives eventually, yum. Well, first I want to say that I screwed up the bread in every possible way that it could be screwed up. My big mistake? I mixed up the oil quantities...instead of using the 1/4 c to brush on the bread, I accidentally dumped it in. Oops! It was fine though after I added another 2 TB or so of flour. For the oil to brush on, I used a TB of olive oil and cooked the garlic in a skillet for the oil to get the garlic flavor...microwave, really? I tried both brushing oil on the grill and not, and maybe it's because I'm using a George Foreman indoor grill, but I couldn't detect a flavor difference. And instead of just adding chopped garlic and basil, I think it's a better idea to add a lot of dried herbs to the bread. I added 1/2 a ts of garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, oregano, a pinch of dill. So lovely and seasoned, but I couldn't believe I was completely out of basil. And I think it would be a better idea to roll em out into circles first before the second rising. And seriously, this is not a tomato paste or pizza sauce, or any kind of cooked ingredient topping pizza recipe! It just screams fresh ingredients. I only used chopped tomatoes, red onions, and mozzarella. I store my extra dough in the fridge in individual zip lock bags and plan on using it up within the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
my husband and I loved this! We have tried it many times with different toppings. We did have to precook the pepperoni due to the quick finish time on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States