Pizza On The Grill I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I am a big fan of the grilled pizzas, but like some other people I definitely had trouble keeping the bottoms of the crusts from burning at first. I brush olive oil on the grates, get the grill as hot as I can, par-bake the dough, throw the toppings on and slide the pizza to the side and off the flames, keeping the grill as hot as possible, but the pizza away from the flames is key to melting the cheese & cooking toppings while not burning the bottom of your crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjm1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Pizza on the grill is absolutely the way to go. My kids and their friends request this ALL the time. Can't imagine bothering with making pizza from scratch and putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good! We made this for our dinner club and everyone love it. I would recommend grilling a crust for practice ahead of time. I had to grill the crust over medium-low heat on the first side and then medium on the second. You will want to watch them closely to keep them from burning. It happens very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great Recipe! Just be sure to have all of your toppings ready, it cooks faster then you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very tasty!! My husband and 5 year old said it was the best pizza we've ever had. I've never had grilled pizza before but this was fantastic! I didn't use the pizza sauce here, I used the easy pizza sauce III from this site which worked out well. I also used a sausage, onion and green pepper mixture that I sauteed on the stove so that the vegetables were soft. Next time, I think I'll try med-high heat instead of high once it's flipped over since it was hard to melt the cheese without burning the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very good! My only complaint is that we cooked it on our charcoal grill, following the directions to use high heat and burned the bottom pretty bad. And because we had to then get the pizza off so it wouldn't burn more, the pizza wasn't very hot and some of the cheese did not melt. We also had a problem with flames after brushing the grates with oil, which also contributed to the pizza burning. Next time we'll wait to put the pizzas on until the flames completely die down after brushing grates with oil (or spritz them with a spray bottle) and possibly even brush the coals aside so the pizzas cook over indirect heat. We'll also make sure to have LONG utensils for spreading on the sauce/pesto, as the grill was too hot to have your hands down there brushing it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
First off, I only used the crust recipe, not the rest of it. This recipe makes GREAT grilled pizza dough. I used the Easy Pizza Sauce III from this site and topped to everyone's personal preference. Very good!! I will definitely be keeping this crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This crust was great but you could use any crust if it looks too hard for you. This recipe has great directions for grilling pizza. At first we were not sure if we liked it but the leftovers were addicting. Oh, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daysee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Wonderful, made the dough into 4 mini pizzas and put different toppings on each. Next time I will remove the pizza when I add the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States