Pizza Dough II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I thought this was really tasty. I have read the reviews about soggy crusts, and I have to say, it's not the fault of this recipe. It's technique! Things I do to make the crust NOT soggy: Use a pizza stone. Roll out the crust VERY thin and do not allow to rise the second time. Bake the bare crust for 5-6 min. at 425 before putting toppings on. Spread pizza sauce very thinly on crust. Most people use too much, and this puts too much moisture in the dough. Use dry toppings (with little moisture content). Did I mention using a pizza stone? One reviewer suggested baking at 500 F. You can try this, but 425 has always worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Exalent Dough though I would recomend baking the dough for 10mins before the toppings to ensure it is cooked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Super easy to work with and very versatile. I made some "quick and dirty" calzones, but had to step away from the process for longer than I expected. The dough did not suffer from my neglect and performed just fine when I came back to it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was not only delicious, but it gave very detailed instructions so even a kitchen novice like myself, could get the desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
awesome! i made it in the bread machine and had to add about 1/8 more flour. cut recipe in half to make one big pizza on a baking sheet. added 1 tsp of garlic powder to the dough. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The dough came out perfect and I did the instructions exactly as described. I didn't have the wheat flour so I just used bread flour but it didn't matter. I made two pizzas right away and froze the other one to later use for mini calzones. If you have soggy crust perhaps you are putting too much sauce? The crust came out with nice flavor without being too thin, thick, chewy, soggy, or overpowering. Perfect for a homemade pizza night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Reversed the ratio of whole wheat and white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Delicious!!! I've made this many times and it's always a hit. Tonight I did 2 cups whole wheat flour, 4 cups bread flour. Pre-baked for only about 4 mins (the crust shrinks up, so it has to still be soft enough to spread out again), added toppings, baked on 400 for 15 mins. I also made garlic breadsticks out of the leftover dough. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was delicious for calzones. Perfect outcome on the first try. Crispy outside, cooked but soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This recipe worked out really well for me. The only thing I did differently was add rosemary, oregano, and some garlic. It was super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pizza Dough

Watch Chef John make super-easy no-knead pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States