Pizza Crust for the Bread Machine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is the best pizza dough I've ever had! I made two changes: I left out the lemon juice because I didn't have any, and I added a little Italian seasoning to make it interesting. The pizza crust was crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside, and was super firm. Even with a ton of toppings, it wasn't soggy or filmsy. We raved about it for days. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This pizza crust is very yummy! I didn't add the lemon juice, and I used shortening instead of vegetable oil. Crust is soft w/ a crisp shell. Dough takes some time to shape, but it was worth it! I was surprised, but the dough was not super sticky, unlike some other pizza doughs I've made. Thanks for sharing your recipe! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
delicious, easy crust to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was exceptional! The only difference I made was to use bread machine bread..and used the whole 3 cups of that.. I didn't have the other flour..and from what I've seen its a little pricey.. We oiled the pizza pan with olive oil and sprinkeld it with corn meal before putting the dough on it. The dough was easy to work with! After the rise cycle I took the dough out and broke it in two.. flour the surface of the counter and rolled it out.. the patted it into the pan. The only recommendation I would offer is to pre cook the dough for atleast 5 minutes in the oven before adding the sauce and toppings. While waiting for the dough to brown ( I like mine more crispy than doughy) I burnt a little bit of the cheese. Of course the pizza stone heats up more evenly and prevents this from happening! I'll have to try it on the stone next time. A+ on this recipe! We will definitally be using this again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Schertz, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Recipe turned out fine, tasted fine. Nothing special. I'll keep the recipe in my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
It has a good taste but not the texture I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This is by far the best pizza crust I've done in my bread machine. It came out perfect. I made the recipe as listed, only added a teaspoon vital wheat gluten and some spices (oregano, crushed red pepper). After the dough cycle, I let the dough ball rest (covered) for a few minutes, then punch out into a little circle. I stop, let it bounce back a little bit and rest (covered) for a few minutes, and punch it out bigger. Do several of those cycles and you can easily get 14-16" out of it. The object is to give it some TLC and gradually get the crust to take shape, not forcing it. I don't toss my crusts, but I'm sure you can do that too. When the dough is formed, I brush a mixture of olive oil and italian seasoning on it, and poke the crust all over with a toothpick (to prevent massive bubbles, unless you like those). The oil and holes prevent the crust from rising super high. I then put it in the oven's bottom rack until the bottom is just crispy, remove it, and lightly sprinkle fresh parmesan and romano cheese on it, put it back in the oven until the cheese cooks a bit. Remove and put your sauce, cheese, and toppings on it. Best pizza ever. Even if your sauce is terrible, people will comment on how good the crust is. And much cheaper than delivery! UPDATE: I have made pizza using this crust more than 50 times now, and you really can't even mess it up with substitutions and additional ingredients. I typically add spices to the dough itself, and also put some spices onto the cru
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This is a good recipe. It does take a while to shape the dough. For me I find it easiest to use a rolling pin but the dough does fight it a bit. I doubled the recipe and got enough dough for 2 cookie sheets. I didn't bother prebaking mine since we prefer a softer texture to the crust. I topped with pizza sauce, italian sausage browned with garlic, mushrooms, bell peppers, and mozzarella cheese. I sprinkled some parmesan and a bit of Italian seasoning over the top and baked at 450 for about 10 minutes. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Comes out perfect everytime. We use this for pizzas and strombolies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I've tried most of the pizza dough recipes on this site and this is certainly my favorite. The dough comes out soft and very easy to work with. I double the recipe and stretch it over an extra large cookie sheet, letting the edges hang over. I top with sauce and toppings and then fold over edges to make a nice thick edge crust that overlaps the toppings a little. I brush on some olive oil to help it darken a little and sprinkle italian seasoning and grated parm over the entire pizza. I tried baking just the crust a few times and then adding the toppings but I find I like it better with the toppings right on the uncooked dough. I bake at 450 for about ten minutes, and I set the cookie sheet directly on a preheated pizza stone. Awesome. I'll always use this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States