Pizza Crust for the Bread Machine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is my husband's and my favourite pizza dough recipe, and we have tried several recipes. It is so chewy and delicious! We just make this recipe by hand since out bread maker broke. We have made it with and without milk powder - we noticed no difference so now we omit it. We use regular flour, not bread flour, just because that's what we have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I always double the recipe so I can easily get 2 thick crust pizzas. I use cookie sheets to make rectangle pizzas. I only baked crust 5-10 minutes and then add toppings and place back in till cheese is melted. This gives a softer chewier crust for a thick crust pizza instead of thin and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was just as the author stated--crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. I didn't think it was chewy or tough, and the dough was so easy to work with. I've never made crust before, and this turned out better than I hoped--it was perfect! My family thought it was the best pizza they ever had and said I should open a pizza shop. I'll never tell them how easy it was! ;) I followed the recipe exactly. I did add another 1/4 c water as the dough ball was forming in the machine as it was too dry. If you've not worked with yeast before, make sure your yeast is fresh and that your water is not cold; the water should be room temp (slightly warm--not hot). This made a 14 inch round for me, and I could have gotten it to 16 inch for a thinner crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Not bad. I liked that it was thinner than my normal go-to crust recipe. Certainly was simple to make - just throw all the ingredients into the bread machine and wait until the bell sounds! I might experiment by adding some seasonings of some type to it and I think I needed to bake the crust by itself for a little bit as it didn't seem "crisp" enough for me under all my toppings and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Really like this recipe. Substituted almond milk for the dry milk as part of total liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This worked out very well for me. I substituted olive oil for vegetable and used a teaspoon of white wine instead of lemon juice (too lazy). After topping it with sauce, cheese, and pepperoni I baked it on a baking tray in a 500F oven for 12 minutes: perfect. Next time I will roll it out thinner as it gets quite a last minute rise in the oven and my husband prefers thinner crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I have made a lot of pizza crust and this is my families favorite. I did double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
So far this is my favorite pizza crust recipe at Allrecipes. Other crust recipes are good, but this has the best flavor, though I had to add a little more water than recommended (in low-humidity conditions in the middle of winter). I made it in the bread machine where it took 1.5 hours. When the machine's beeper went off, I took it out and worked the dough into a rough circle. If you know about dough, you have to let it rest a couple of times when you work it for this purpose. I used it for a white pizza - a thin coating of olive oil on the unbaked crust topped with homemade ranch dressing, grated carrot, black olives, pickled onions, and goat cheese and bleu cheese crumbles. Baked on a pizza stone at 435F for an undetermined time (I didn't time it, but did keep an eye out). Totally Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
We LOVE this receipe!! It's the only pizza dough receipe we use! I double it to make 3 thin pizza's that fit on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is a great recipe. I used bread flour & whole wheat flour in equal parts & added 2 tbsp of wheat germ. Other than that I followed the recipe. Since I used my bread machine all the rising is done for you. I rolled & stretched it into two 12" pizza crusts. I knew I was supposed to let it rest & rise again but time was short. I brushed it with olive oil & Italian seasoning, poked it with a fork all over before pre-baking at 400° for about 10 mins. After browned I added my sauce and toppings. I baked it at 450° on the highest rack in the oven until the cheese was a little browned. What I got was 2 very tasty pizzas and another chance to sneak wheat germ into the kids food. Much better than take out for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States