Pizza Crust for Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Got to add my kudos to the rest. I've tried SO MANY pizza crust recipes I can't even count them, looking for something good and easy. And I'm always trying to reduce the fat content. This recipe did it all for me, and tasted fabulous. Also works with other kinds of oil. And it was so easy to work with to spread out onto the pan -- not too sticky, and not too fragile. It didn't break all over like some recipes do when you're trying to make them fit your pan. THIS IS MY PERMANENT PIZZA DOUGH RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Perfect pizza crust! It is even better when made with bread flour, and I usually sub garlic salt instead of plain. I found semolina flour made by Bob's Red Mill. The dough was a little sticky - previously, I had sprinkled some flour on it and the counter - use white rice flour for this instead, it won't alter the texture of the crust they way wheat flour does. I use this crust both on a pizza stone and on a gas grill (see recipe for Pizza On The Grill II). When I bake this in the oven, I make two pizzas; on the grill, I use this recipe to make 12 small pizzas. I used to use corn meal on my pizza stone, but have found that wheat germ tastes better and is less gritty. This crust stays light colored after it is baked. Thank you for the great recipe, Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
this was a great crust! the semolina makes a huge difference. I baked it at 400, and it was great. next time I will try 425, I like it brown. I dont have a bread machine and it turned out awesome. I froze the remaining dough and made calzones which were even better than the pizza. Ive already shared this recipe...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I had company when I made this the first time. They liked it so much I had to make a copies for them to take home. My husband and kids loves it too, we have to make pizza every Sunday now. The only things I changed was I used solid shorting instead of olive oil and 3 cups all-pupose flour. It made the dough so soft I didn't need to roll it out, I just flattened it with my hands. YUM, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Can I say ?? WOW! So flaky so yummy! I gave up on homemade pizza a while ago. My crust used to come out like a led slate:(,however with so many 5 star reviews, I decided to give this one a shot and I'm glad I did!! I didn't have semolina flour but it didn't matter. I used easy pizza sauce III with this crust as did another reviewer and it was great and low fat! NOTE: I lost my bread machine manual but as a rule of thumb first the liquid, then the dry, then the yeast. I placed the oil and warm water first then the salt and sugar so it could dissolve then the flour and yeast. (Preheated the oven at 400) Then I split the dough into 2 pieces and made 2 deep dish pizzas (using 2 cake pans) and lightly oiled the crust with olive oil before I put on the sauce and cheese and saugasage. The crust was light and tasty. I can't wait to make calzones or bread sticks next. This recipe is definilty a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Fantastic!!! The semolina flour added just a bit of chewiness! It was great! I baked on 400 for about 25 minutes. I always prebake the crust for about 5 minutes before adding cheese and sauce. Definitely try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYMSTARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This is an excellent pizza dough recipe and I love how fast and easy it is! The dough is a little sticky coming out of the machine, so make sure you flour your hands while pressing it into the bottom of a greased pizza pan. I make my pizza using the "Easy Pizza Sauce II" recipe from this site, along with my favorite toppings. Then I bake it at 425 degrees for 15 minutes and it comes out perfect every time! The dough is soft and tender and comes out nice and puffy and golden. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
It rose nicely and was a nice texture, but I found it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Thank you thank you thank you!! This crust turned out AMAZING!! It's the perfect thickness, and nice and chewy on the inside with a crisp exterior. I'm going to have to stock up on semolina flour, because I'm making this dough all the time from now on! This recipe could be the first step toward world peace. 100 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Great Recipe! I end up using a tablespoon of sugar so that the crust browns up nice. I've had great luck putting my pizza stone on the bottom rack, preheating to 475 degrees, & baking until done. I have to use one of those wood pizza paddles to transfer the pizza to/from the stone, but the texture of the crust is *well* worth the troubles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States