Pizza Crust Fantastico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
YUM! This crust is amazing. I couldn't find corn flour, so I used threw some corn meal in the blender to make it more fine, and used that. The dough (as other reviewers have said) was extremely sticky, almost more like a batter than a dough at first. I added 1/2 cup more each of all purpose and wheat flours, and then added more flour as necessary while kneading to make it smooth. My husband just has sauce and cheese on his half, while I topped mine with sauce, thin sliced roma tomatoes, broccoli, and mozzarella cheese. It was fantastico! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
The dough was sticky and hard to work with but the final product was delicious. It was my first success with pizza dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
This is one of the best home made pizza crust recipes that I've ever made. My husband just loved it, he just holds his breath when I make home made pizza because I can never seem to get a good crust. This one was excellent. A little spicy for my taste buds with the quantity of pepper in it so next time I'll half it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
The flavor and texture of this crust was really good but I found it very difficult to work with because it was really sticky. We made breadsticks for the kids (age 9 and 2) out of the dough and they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I,too, was compelled to add 1 cup more of flour while the mixture was in the bowl. I added small dustings of flour during the kneading process. As for flavor, this recipe is clearly a five star. I made a thin crust pizza and the crust was crunchy yet easy to bite. Because my sauce has all the herbs in this recipe, I did not add them. Instead, I added Spanish Cracked Anise. (Penzy's.com) After making the pizza crust, I had more than half the recipe remaining. Because of the quantity yeast, I let it rise in a breadpan and baked it as a loaf of bread.(30 min @ 350 degrees.) It turned out a beautiful loaf that is light to eat and very flavorful. Made great toast with butter. I intend to use it for Garlic bread, Bruchetta and croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Great! I feel like a real pizza chef. Found myself wanting to throw it up into the air and spin. I'll eventually succeed because this will become my only pizza crust recipe I'll ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I made this over the past weekend, and the only reason I'm giving it only 4 stars instead of 5 is because, to me at least, the rosemary tended to overpower the other flavors. I will definitely make this again, only I will cut back on that particular spice. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
very sticky difficult to work with. Had to add at least another cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was the best crust. I have never been able to get a tasty crust. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I thought the tomato in the crust competed with the toppings and was acidic tasting. It was also sticky and hard to work with. I prefer a regular olive oil crust with a tablespoon or so of Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States