Pizza Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years, and it's one of my family's favorites. We call it slum gooey. I substitute spaghetti sauce for the pizza sauce, and I usually just make it on the stove top. I've added crumbled sausage, pepperoni, ground beef, bacon, green peppers, mushrooms and just about anything else you might find on pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Tastes like pizza. Used a 14 oz jar of spaghetti sauce since others said it got a bit dry and added a chopped clove of garlic to the mixture and sprinkled a tsp of oregano in. First time in a long time my kids said "You should make this again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
EASY although somewhat bland. Next time will try adding more pizza sauce for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BROZZY
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Thumbs up from the family. I doubled the pizza sauce and added 2 teaspoons dried italian seasoning. The amount of pepperoni can be reduced. Next time I will try turkey pepperoni to cut back on the fat a bit. So fast and easy to throw together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was just okay for me. I will try this again, but will double the pizza sauce called for and add additional pizza topping items such as sausage, peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My family loved it. I made some changes tho. I put 2 jars of pizza sauce in a pan and melted about 8 oz of velveta cheese (stirring constanty). I then added my pizza toppings (yellow squash, olives, turkey sausage, green peppers). Since I accidently cooked the macaroni noodles all the way, I added them and mozzarella, parmesan, and romano cheese to the pot. After it was all mixed I put it into the 9x13 pan and sprinkled mozzarella on top (about 1 cup). I then took panko crumbs tossed with melted butter and poured on top. Sprinkled with parmesan and romano (1/4 c) put into the oven for 20 mins or till cheese is melted and crumbs slighlty toasted looking. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
My daughter and I give it a 2 and my grand daughter took one bite and refused to eat it, but my husband liked it and gave it a 4 star, so I figured I'd be generous and give it a 3 on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I read some of the reviews before going out to buy the ingredients. I used 2 cans of pizza sauce and instead of using the dry cheese powder found in mac and cheese. I used velveeta shells and cheese. It made the recipe a lot more creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
wonderful - I use an 11x17 pan and pile on extra quantities of all ingredients...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Okay. The best part was how easy. It would not be so easy I added more stuff like recommended. We ate it alright, but no one raved on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States