Pizza Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
These were the first thing to go at our Super Bowl party. Making them was pretty messy but they were worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
A nice change of pace from plain old meatballs or cocktail meatballs. I used hot sausage, and did not even need to use the water. The never really browned, even afte leaving them in a few extra minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
okay recipe; doesn't remind me of pizza exactly. needs a little more to spice it up. regardless, easy to put together, although very messy when forming the balls -- i found that after forming about 10 balls, running my hands under cold water then going back to forming made it a lot easier (and less messy). as far as adding in the 1 cup of water, less is better -- i put in maybe a 1/4 cup and ended up having add in more baking mix to even it out. if you wet your hands to form and completely omit the 1 cup in the recipe, maybe it would all work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I was intrigued by this recipe thinking it was very similar to the Jimmy Dean one that uses sausage, baking mix and cheddar cheese. Boy, was I disappointed, even after taking the other reviews about reducing the water and lack of pizzazz into account. =( I think I would take the other recipe which calls for 2lbs sausage and only 1 1/2 cups of baking mix and modify it with italian seasonings and much less pizza sauce if I were making it again. Some things I did find useful and would help address the "messiness issue", I had to put the mixture in the fridge as I was interrupted in making them. I also used my small cookie ball scoop to get it out of the bowl and shape them onto the baking sheet. I put mine out on foil and they were rather difficult to remove once done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I just took these out of the oven and tried them...fantastic. I deviated from the recipe some. I mixed hot and sweet Italian sausage, added only 1/2 green pepper, did't add the water, and probably only added 1 1/2 C. of baking mix. I plan to freeze them on a baking pan, throw them in a freezer ziplock, and when I serve them Christmas Eve, I will put them in a chafing dish with additional pizza sauce. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I made these for a church get-together and they were a hit! Very easy to make and very good. I used hot Italian sausage and omitted the onion and green bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I prepared this recipe for an office party. It was a big hit. In addition to the Pizza Balls I warmed a bowl of pizza sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This app was yummy to eat, but a mess to make. Very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These were very good - made them for a football party, and the kids loved them (I omitted the green pepper). They looked a little odd, but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I made these for a Super bowl party and was very disappointed. Everyone seemed to enjoy them, but they were very lacking in flavor. It says 10 servings but not how many per serving so I doubled the recipe, big mistake...I had about 200.Very messy to make and they stick bad to cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sandwich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States