Pizza Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I thought these were pretty good. Good thing, since the recipe makes a lot. I didn't add all of the water or the baking mix right away just in case I didn't need it all, but it turned out I did. It was a bit too wet without the second cup of baking mix. Instead of adding onions as is, I cooked them in a skillet with olive oil and garlic--needed it for another recipe as well, so I just added more and it worked well. I let it cool then tossed in with the rest. These balls do stick and are a bit greasy, although not as greasy as I expected. I tried to make them a few different ways, just to see: I browned in a skillet (not a good idea; they stick like crazy because of the cheese), baked on a drying rack on a cooking sheet (also not a good idea--they stick, even if you spray the rack, and they aren't as greasy as I thought they would be) and sprayed the heck out of foil on a cookie sheet and baked that way. The recipe submitter is right--bake them on a cookie sheet. They do flatten more like cookies, probably because of the baking mix, but are still pretty tasty. The balls are easiest to make with a cookie scoop, and I wouldn't bother making into balls since they flatten anyway, but I'll try with bread crumbs next time I want more meatball like meatballs. You can eat them as appetizers or as we did on spaghetti. Hubs said they were like meatball subs without the bread. We enjoyed them, and it eased my craving for spaghetti and meatballs. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I needed a quick appetizer for the Super Bowl using on hand ingredients. This fit the bill. I omitted the water and only added as much sauce as was needed to help bind the meatballs. They cooked nicely in 20 minutes and they tasted fine but they didn't 'bowl' anyone over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These were great, and I don't think I tweaked the recipe much: sage breakfast sausage, some extra Italian seasoning & garlic powder, and I left out the onion and bell pepper for my 5yo. Based on other reviews, I didn't use 1 cup water. I used 2-3 tablespoons extra sauce and enough water (2-4 tablespoons) to moisten well. I dropped by the teaspoonful onto parchment paper: no mess, no sticking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I used the Exquisite Pizza Sauce and Italian Sausage- Tuscan Style recipes for the sauce and Italian sausage. Used a pampered chef cookie scoop to make the balls without the mess. They ended up more cookie shaped than spherical. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
very very good...they were a big hit. I used the whole bottle of pizza sauce which was 14 oz..everyone loved them! a little messy to make but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I made these for a Super bowl party and was very disappointed. Everyone seemed to enjoy them, but they were very lacking in flavor. It says 10 servings but not how many per serving so I doubled the recipe, big mistake...I had about 200.Very messy to make and they stick bad to cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sandwich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These were very good - made them for a football party, and the kids loved them (I omitted the green pepper). They looked a little odd, but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This app was yummy to eat, but a mess to make. Very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I prepared this recipe for an office party. It was a big hit. In addition to the Pizza Balls I warmed a bowl of pizza sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I made these for a church get-together and they were a hit! Very easy to make and very good. I used hot Italian sausage and omitted the onion and green bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States