Pizza Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
These were the first thing to go at our Super Bowl party. Making them was pretty messy but they were worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
A nice change of pace from plain old meatballs or cocktail meatballs. I used hot sausage, and did not even need to use the water. The never really browned, even afte leaving them in a few extra minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
okay recipe; doesn't remind me of pizza exactly. needs a little more to spice it up. regardless, easy to put together, although very messy when forming the balls -- i found that after forming about 10 balls, running my hands under cold water then going back to forming made it a lot easier (and less messy). as far as adding in the 1 cup of water, less is better -- i put in maybe a 1/4 cup and ended up having add in more baking mix to even it out. if you wet your hands to form and completely omit the 1 cup in the recipe, maybe it would all work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I was intrigued by this recipe thinking it was very similar to the Jimmy Dean one that uses sausage, baking mix and cheddar cheese. Boy, was I disappointed, even after taking the other reviews about reducing the water and lack of pizzazz into account. =( I think I would take the other recipe which calls for 2lbs sausage and only 1 1/2 cups of baking mix and modify it with italian seasonings and much less pizza sauce if I were making it again. Some things I did find useful and would help address the "messiness issue", I had to put the mixture in the fridge as I was interrupted in making them. I also used my small cookie ball scoop to get it out of the bowl and shape them onto the baking sheet. I put mine out on foil and they were rather difficult to remove once done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I just took these out of the oven and tried them...fantastic. I deviated from the recipe some. I mixed hot and sweet Italian sausage, added only 1/2 green pepper, did't add the water, and probably only added 1 1/2 C. of baking mix. I plan to freeze them on a baking pan, throw them in a freezer ziplock, and when I serve them Christmas Eve, I will put them in a chafing dish with additional pizza sauce. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I made these for a church get-together and they were a hit! Very easy to make and very good. I used hot Italian sausage and omitted the onion and green bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I prepared this recipe for an office party. It was a big hit. In addition to the Pizza Balls I warmed a bowl of pizza sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This app was yummy to eat, but a mess to make. Very sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These were very good - made them for a football party, and the kids loved them (I omitted the green pepper). They looked a little odd, but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I made these for a Super bowl party and was very disappointed. Everyone seemed to enjoy them, but they were very lacking in flavor. It says 10 servings but not how many per serving so I doubled the recipe, big mistake...I had about 200.Very messy to make and they stick bad to cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sandwich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States