Pittsburgh Style Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Being from Pittsburgh, this sandwich is a staple. This is a great play on it too! I used a sausage patty made from Johnsonville hot Italian sausage instead of lunch meat, and I have to say that it was fantastic! I agree w/ others that said it doesn't matter what kind of slaw you use (it's not specified in the recipe which to use, so use what you like), this is one tasty sandwich~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Five guys fries work very well(if there's one in the area), an apple vinegar coleslaw base with a bit extra sugar made it taste very close to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I don't care if the recipe is authentic to a restaurants or not...these are awesome served with any kind of cole slaw, meats, or types of fries. We love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
absolutely great sandwich for the game!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I gave you four stars due to it's named a Pittsburgh style sandwich and not Primanti style for ALL Pittsburgher's know....never use a mayo based coleslaw!!! Must be a vinegar base coleslaw and the fries are fried not baked for a TRUE Primanti sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was freaking awesome to have on a Sunday night dinner for my three men. They loved having a sandwich they saw on "Diners, Drive-in's and Dives" sandwich and I get to clean out my freezer. I used Oreida french fried potatoes that I spiced up with Stacey's Hamburger Seasoning and I made my own coleslaw. To say this was a huge hit would be an understatement and you can make it as healthy or unhealthy as you like. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
stikychikn must not have actually made one. This is the sandwich celebrities and presidential hopefuls seek out when they come to Pittsburgh because despite what it sounds like, it is an amazing sandwich. Any deli meat will do and as others have suggested, use vinegar based coleslaw and don't be cheap with the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
When I saw the ingredients I thought "how strange!" but gave it a try anyway and it is absolutely DELICIOUS!! This will be one of my go-to sandwiches from now on. Easy and fast too. A real winner!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a copycat of Primanti Brother's sandwiches - famous in Pittsburgh and oh-so-delicious! You can use any meat - I prefer capicola. Heat the meat in a pan with provolone on top until it's warm and the cheese is melty. Put it on Italian bread (I cut mine in slices to be more authentic), pile on some fries (not thin fries but not as thick as steak fries - homemade are best), then a vinegar-based cole slaw (not mayo-based). I used the Amish Slaw recipe from this site and it works great! Best sandwich ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This is a very basic, 'gist' of a Pittsburgh style sandwich. I live in Pgh, and am a big fan of Primanti's. Vinegar based slaw is a MUST. Also, the fries have to be FRIED, not baked. Don't try to save calories on this one. Also, fresh, hand sliced italian bread is key. It's nice and soft, so after the sandwich is made, you can press it down and dip it in hot sauce. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUNPUNCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States