Pittsburgh Style Chipped Ham Barbeque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
YUMMY! Being a Pittsburgh girl this is perfect for Super Bowl Sujnday! Great tasty sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I was born and raised in Pittsburgh, and it has been so long since I've had a BBQ chipped ham sandwich. I cannot WAIT to get off work now! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great, simple food!!! I grew up on these. Just a few changes the way my Mom made them. Start with Sauteed onions and add sweet relish. I miss Isley's chipped ham. You just can't order "a pound of Chipped Ham" at a deli in the South, you have to explain how to slice it. 9 of 10 times they still get it wrong. LOL Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
We've been making ham barbeques like this for a long time! The only thing we do differently is sautee a some finely diced green pepper and onion in a little oil first, then proceed with the recipe. These are super simple and very tasty~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I grew up in Cleveland, but my parents are from SW PA... we had this sandwich all the time when I was little. I was asking somebody about it the other day and they never heard of it. Thank you for posting this recipe, now I can show it to everybody!! Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe. I read the other reviews and have to concur that onions are an essential part of what I remember about Chipped Ham BBQ sandwiches. We use Heinz Ketchup of course and chili sauce with brown sugar and a tiny bit of liquid smoke. I will make this recipe as a change up for our recipe. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V Renée Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Ham BBQ is the best! I'm originally from Western PA but now live in Ohio. I make it for big get togethers in a crock pot so it just stays hot and people can eat when they want to! Because of the high sugar content, you want to put it on warm or low after it's heated through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Maybe you have to be from Pittsburgh to love these. I also use Heinz ketsup, of course! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was really yummy! I had lots of leftover spiral ham and was looking for something different to do with it. I used the unsliced end of the ham, and cooked it in the crock pot all day. Thinking about using the leftovers for a home-made ham pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Sweet, tangy, barbecuey goodness on a bun. I used mesquite smoked shaved ham (lunchmeat ham) and put this on an onion bun for a wonderful hot meal in minutes. Fast, simple, and delicious, what more could you ask? Thanks Princesscook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States