Pittsburgh Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My husband hates sour cream so I was a bit worried about this one, but he loved it. It didn't have a strong sour cream taste and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was FANTASTIC! I had my in-laws and parents for dinner so I doubled it. It was creamy and so good. I added bacon bits and sprinkled the top with chives too. Very, very good! I will make this forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I have tried unsuccessfully to make cheese potatoes for years. THey tend to be too greasy or not cooked enough. THis was awesome and I will use it every time. Everything is better Pittsburgh-style!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I liked the which from scalloped potatoes which I usually make. I did alter the recipe with less onion for a picky eater and I changed the velveta to 1 1/2 cups and half a cup of mozzerella. I also added about 1/8 tsp garlic powder and right before I took it out I put additional cheese and some chopped cooked bacon on top. Everyone loved them, but next time I will put in the 1/3 cup onion for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TARAWVU
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I grew up just south of Pittsburgh and this is always a staple at picnics and family reunions. Thanks for posting. I always forget to ask for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I made as directed but added some leftover ham. The whole family loved it. The sour cream & onions made them so flavorful. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good potatoes! I am from Pittsburgh and It brought back very happy memories. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Quick and easy. Watch the the cheese/butter in saucepan. Will burn easy even on low setting w/ gas stove. Must stir constantly. Lots of flavor. My 14 yr old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Quick and easy to make, not a lot of fuss. I had several baked potatoes left over from a previous meal and used them. Very creamy and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Absolutely DELICIOUS! I even added diced pre-cooked ham to it. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States