Pittsburgh Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by vanilla_rose316
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Best ham barbeque ever!! I am originally from the Pittsburgh area and grew up with these sandwiches being served at every picnic and family get together. A few years ago I found that the stores here had begun selling Isaly's ham (the only ham to use for REAL ham barbeque). I should also add that I have bought Isaly's at about 4 stores up here and have only found ONE deli lady that can manage to cut it correctly-it has to be so thin you can see through it but not a pile of ham dust (which I got at one store). I decided to share a bit of my childhood with my wife so I bought some and made up a crock pot of barbeque and since then have made it a few times it has never been right. I think she was starting to think I was a little crazy talking about how good this stuff was supposed to be. Then we made this recipe a few days ago. This is perfect! We made it exactly as written and recommend changing nothing. The balance of sour and sweet and the thickness of the sauce were exactly what I remember. If you want real ham barbeque do yourself a favor-print this recipe out and get into your kitchen-you're wasting your time if you keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanilla_rose316

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great ham qb. Unless your from Pittsburgh area your not going to find or know what chipped ham is. many people believe shaved is the same but it's not. It doesn't matter it's still a great sandwich & I'm glad to see it listed here! If you like barbque you will like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Beavers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
The best! I used deli baked ham was amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I am from Pittsburgh and this was a game day staple at our house. We never added sweet relish to ours. I would think that would make it very sweet and runny. Also, as latchkey kids, we frequently made our own as an after school snack with chipped ham and bbq sauce heated through in a sauce pan and eaten on a hamburger bun! NEVER relish though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I'm a pittsburgh girl. These are as close to my moms as you can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Can you say “Good, Real Good?” That is what my dad said twice during dinner tonight when I fixed these sandwiches. He doesn’t come to dinner often, but I knew he would really enjoy tonight’s menu. I live in Indiana, and tried 3 grocery delis to purchased chipped chopped ham. None of them knew what I was talking about. I knew Ohio, where my in-laws lived carried it in their stores. So when I went to Ohio this past weekend, I came home with 3 lbs. of it. All it is, is cooked ham that is shaved as thin as the deli’s slicer can go. I know I could have gotten that in Indiana, now knowing what it is. Well, I’m here to tell you, it makes a great sandwich. I read the reviews about how much sauce the recipe makes. I made it as written, but I let mine slowly simmer for about 30 minutes. It had a nice thickness to the sauce when I added the ham. The ham then slowly simmered for about 30 minutes while my potatoes, ‘Jalapeno Potatoes’’ from AR baked. I didn’t have Kaiser Rolls, but did have slider buns, so I toasted those and the sandwich was wonderful on them. This recipe has been in my recipe box since February 2011. I’m glad I found the meat and finally got around to making them. My family thoroughly enjoyed them, and I know they will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Very good! Closest to the recipe my mom used that I can find. Just the right mix of hot, sweet & sour. Would definitely like to try it with chili sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
We liked this a lot. I made the sauce exactly as described. I used picnic ham, chopped up in a food processor, instead of chopped chipped ham. I don't think I've ever had actual chipped ham, but I looked up how it's made, and the chopped picnic ham seemed like a reasonable substitute. The rest of my family ate theirs on rolls, but I made mine gluten-free by eating it on lettuce leaves instead of a roll. I think it would also make a great topping for baked or mashed potatoes, rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I used half ketchup/half barbeque sauce, added in some fresh minced garlic and I spread garlic butter on the kaiser rolls THEN I toasted them. My family LOVED these sandwiches. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Excellent taste and very easy. I leave out the butter, go with extra vinegar for tanginess, and add cloves (~10 per lb). If in a hurry, can skip the mustard and Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States