Pittsburgh Ham Barbecue Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My boyfriend turned me on to ham barbecue after I spent my whole life thinking that it was a gross idea. My loss. This is cheap, delicious, and a definite crowd pleaser. It's even better the next day, when everything's thickened up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ereteshka
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Easy and will feed a lot of people for not a lot of cash. was a Friday nite staple after High School football games
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I am from Pittsburgh and it is tradition to have this on game days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Mom is from pittsburgh and she said they were on the money. As for me who didn't come from pittsburgh it was lacking. I'm not sure how to make it better but will keep messing with it as it made mom happy. Only change was the sauce was really runny so we added another pound of ham to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was a great barbecue sandwich! Very tangy and a hint of sweet. I scaled this down to 1 serving and it came out with just the right amount of sauce to meat. I added sweet relish to the mix rather than adding it on top. I used shaved mesquite smoked ham. My PA friends relocated here tell me that "chipped" ham isn't available here in Texas so I can't say how this would compare to what they are used to, but I thought it was really good and certainly a keeper! Thanks for the great recipe, this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Tried this based on such great reviews. Too sweet for my family. Was fun to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
As a Pittsburgh-er, I can say that these are really good! The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is that that is waaaaay too much sauce for only 1 pound of chipped ham. I'm glad that I went w/ my instincts and 1/2'd the sauce part, b/c it would've been a waste of the extra ingredients. Other than that, these were very tasty, had great flavor and I loved the convenience of using the slow cooker...I cooked mine on low for 3 hrs. and that was perfect. I didn't find these too sweet at all, just right! Thanks for sharing this recipe...I WILL be making these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I thought I would never remember the recipe my mom gave me for this and now it is here. Thank you. I forgot the cola....lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States