Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
As a native Pittsburgher, I really enjoyed this recipe...my mom used to make something similar (but not as good)! Very tasty on a cold night and super easy. I served this with Chuck's Mac and Cheese from this site. Thanks Marcia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This were absolutely delicious!! However, I didn't use the liquid smoke flavoring. Quick and easy to make too. Thanks a bunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I USED SHAVED EAGLE VALLEY MAPLE HAM. ALSO SHAVED VIRGINA BAKED HAM, THIS IS VERY EASY TO MAKE AND VERY TASTY. MY HUSBAND RON REALLY LIKED THEM AS DID I. WE DON'T CARE FOR LIQUID SMOKE SO I LEFT IT OUT. AND I SERVED THEM ON SEMI HARD WHEAT BUNS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
It does'nt get better than this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Fast, easy, and delicious! A crowd pleasing favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
As a native Pittsburgher now living in St. Louis I thought the recipe was the best. Just hits the spot on these hot and humid days. Thanks Marcia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Excited to see this recipe listed. Left Pittsburgh many years ago and whole family loves Chipped Ham BBQ. It was really the best! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
What is chipped ham??? Yunz gotta be a 'Burgher to know that chipped ham is shaved ham. Any kind of deli baked ham can be used, cut very thinly or shaved. In Pittsburgh, it is "chipped". An early version of this dish used a local brand, Isaly's Chipped Chopped Ham, a rather greasy but tasty composite loaf. One of those things you really didn't want to know what the contents really were. Anyway, I use a similar recipe with more vinegar and brown sugar, and onions and garlic, too. This is a very convenient and good-tasting sandwich to take to a picnic (use the crockpot) or to sell at a fund-raiser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
How funny to find this recipe here. I have been making this for over 55 years!!!! However, I don't add the spices, just the ketchup, vinegar, less water and some onion and maybe a little more brown sugar. As I live in TX now this is a great change from the usual beef brisket BBQ made here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This is a true Pittsburgh recipe! I usually don't add liquid smoke or cinammon and I think that everyone who grew up in Pgh has their own way to prepare it, but I LOVE HAM BBQ'S!!!!!! And this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States