Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
OH MY GOSH! I can't believe I stumbled across this recipe. What memories. Our recipe is the same except we do not use cinnamon or liquid smoke, although I am going to try the liquid smoke. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
It's a Pittsburgh thing. This is better than Isaly's. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
My husband and I are originally from The Burgh and I have to say that aside from the sweet relish ( which I omitted after the 1st time) is right on the money. The sauce is very much like Isaly'S.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I haven't made these yet, but I know they are going to be great. I grew up in Castle Shannon right outside of Pgh. and remember being surprised when I was a kid that I liked the barbecues when I found out there was relish in them. I have been buying jars of the Isaly's barbecue sauce for my barbecues but have been wanting to make a homemade batch. Thanks so much for the authentic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I live in Pgh now, but I didn't grow up here. Knowing how particular Pittsburghers can be about their ham bbq, I was nervous to try making it myself. But, I made your recipe, and all my hubby's relatives (natives)have absolutely RAVED about it, saying it is the best they've had. It made me proud, so thanks a ton! That was 2 years ago, and I still make it often. I make it exactly as written, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I can't believe this recipie is on here! I'm from State College, PA, but my parents were from south of Pittsburgh so I had LOTS of these as a child. I just might make them for my hubby tonight! I never added liquid smoke either - in fact I think we just put ketcup and relish, although I'm not sure. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Being a Pittsburgh native, I grew up on Isaly's chipped ham barbcue sandwhiches...adding a slice of american cheese and a little more Heinz sweet-pickle relish. This recipe is right on....taking me back many years....Thank You Marcie for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Wonderful flavor! We really liked it. The only change I will make next time is to cut the water amount in half. It was way too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I grew up in Pittsburgh--and remember these sandwiches from the Shaler High lunchroom as well as the Burchfield Elementary lunchroom where I taught. Funny, as we are getting ready for the Super Bowl today, I thought of chipped ham barbecue sandwiches. A must for today's menu!! but I don't remember my mom adding liquid smoke when she made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
My husband is a native Pittsburger and has been talking about these sandwiches for 25 years. I can't wait to make these for the Superbowl. GO STEELERS!!!!Does anyone happen to have the "Pleasure Bar" pizza recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States