Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I friend gave me this recipe. My hubbuy & son are very picky eaters, they both love bbq chipped ham. But once I tried this recipe they ask for it often. I make it no less than twice a month.The only difference is I put it in the crock pot on high for 3-4 hrs. Turns out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jay-nice74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Way too salty. Maybe I could rinse the chipped ham, but I feel my blood pressure rising. I will try other recipes to see if they fit the bill of real chipped ham sandwiches,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I'm sorry. I am born and raised Pittsburgh and this just doesn't do the trick. My daughter wouldn't even eat it. The cinnamon was totally new to me. Thanks for bringing Pittsburgh into the light, but there should be a better representation of our ham barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Sweet and tangy. Delicious. I'm not from Pittsburgh and I don't like ketchup or sweet relish but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Going to cook up the Chipped Ham BBQ this Sunday. Need something to eat while the Denver Broncos are eating the Steelers for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I am originally from pittsburgh and this recipe is ok but none will ever compare to dubque ham, which you can get at any grocery or deli in pittsburgh. chipped only of course, isleys is not only place this is available its the brand and method of cutting that is important
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Labelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I make this for my family often. Our local store puts Isaly's chipped ham on sale about twice a month and this recipe is fantastic. The only change I made was to brown the ham in a frying pan until the edges get crispy. I never have leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Everyone liked it. Just like I grew up with.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Not a burgher but we loved this and will make it again for sure. I think I will try it with chipped smoked turkey next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These ham barbecues are just like the ones my granny made with Isaly's chipped ham!!! For those of you that are not 'Burghers, be sure to use pressed or boiled ham, and I learned that the translation in Chicago for chipped is shaved! MMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States