Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Quick and easy! I made this tasty dish with Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce because I didn't have the other ingredients...I also added a dash of A1 Steak sauce. We never had BBQ Ham sandwiches and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Lived on these as a child. I skipped the relish and cinnamon the second time around. Not exactly like Isley's or my Mums, but pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I used left over ham that I chopped very small. My kids loved it and had second and thirds. It was a fun spin on sloppy joes and a great way to use up left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Just tasted like home. My dad couldn't have done any better. Really, really good. I'm a Pittsburgh lad too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I liked this a lot. I have never been to Pittburgh and really have nothing to compare this recipe to but it was good, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Tastes just like the barbecue sandwiches I had when I was growing up in Pittsburgh! I was delighted to find authentic Isaly's chopped ham in the deli at our local store (in the eastern panhandle of WV, no less!). It just doesn't taste the same with anything else! But the "what to drink" suggestion...Riesling??? Really??? Come on, you can't drink anything but Iron City beer with this! I even put a little in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I grew up on Chipped Ham Barbecues. I was a little leary of the cinnamon and now wish I'd left it out. This was pretty good, but the cinnamon just didn't do it for me. The tangy-sweet and slightly smoky flavors are plenty, but the cinnamon was overkill. Next time I will leave it out. I also wish I'd had another 1/4 lb of ham to throw in as there was too much sauce letover. Thanks for a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
back home, about 40 minutes from PGH, we refered to this as chip chop ham. It's is a staple in many homes in the area. Can't wait to make it for Super Bowl!!! Thanks for bringing back an awesome memory from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I friend gave me this recipe. My hubbuy & son are very picky eaters, they both love bbq chipped ham. But once I tried this recipe they ask for it often. I make it no less than twice a month.The only difference is I put it in the crock pot on high for 3-4 hrs. Turns out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jay-nice74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Way too salty. Maybe I could rinse the chipped ham, but I feel my blood pressure rising. I will try other recipes to see if they fit the bill of real chipped ham sandwiches,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States