Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Thanks to pat for the Beef Potato House Pie Casserole. My husband usually is not a casserole person,but he loved this one. I really liked it myself. It was quick,easy and delicious. Bea,S.C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I am from Pgh and this is one of the best recipes for using chipped ham that I have found...THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I hate to add a negative vote, but we didn't like this recipe. We have eaten much better BBQ than that. Definitely not a keeper. Georgia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Although it was very easy to make, I did not like the flavor. I actually even like the stuff out of the can better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Isaly's chipped chopped ham and this recipe. Maybe it's a Pittsburgh thing...yum! Thanks Marcia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
I USED SLICED HAM INSTEAD OF CHIPPED HAM IN THIS RECIPE. I DIDNT REALLY CARE FOR THE SAUCE IN THIS. MAYBE WITHOUT THE RELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This is a true Pittsburgh recipe! I usually don't add liquid smoke or cinammon and I think that everyone who grew up in Pgh has their own way to prepare it, but I LOVE HAM BBQ'S!!!!!! And this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
How funny to find this recipe here. I have been making this for over 55 years!!!! However, I don't add the spices, just the ketchup, vinegar, less water and some onion and maybe a little more brown sugar. As I live in TX now this is a great change from the usual beef brisket BBQ made here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
What is chipped ham??? Yunz gotta be a 'Burgher to know that chipped ham is shaved ham. Any kind of deli baked ham can be used, cut very thinly or shaved. In Pittsburgh, it is "chipped". An early version of this dish used a local brand, Isaly's Chipped Chopped Ham, a rather greasy but tasty composite loaf. One of those things you really didn't want to know what the contents really were. Anyway, I use a similar recipe with more vinegar and brown sugar, and onions and garlic, too. This is a very convenient and good-tasting sandwich to take to a picnic (use the crockpot) or to sell at a fund-raiser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Excited to see this recipe listed. Left Pittsburgh many years ago and whole family loves Chipped Ham BBQ. It was really the best! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States