Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Gotta love anything Pittsburgh! My children were both born at Magee Womens and we lived in da Burgh for 11 years! Anyway, we love these. When in a hurry, I just put the ham in the skillet, put either Sweet Baby Ray's or KC Masterpiece on and get the mixture good and thick, then I add a little Sprite or other lemon lime drink, thicken that a bit and have the most delicious sandwiches! My oldest asks me for these and now can make them himself! Go Pens, Steelers and Pirates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I've made this recipe before and it's fantastic! We used to get these in elementary school...such good memories. It's not your typical barbecue, maybe only those of us from the Burgh can truly appreciate it. But I'm cooking up a batch for the Super Bowl this sunday! Go Steelers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Excellent! Because I'm on the west coast, finding chipped ham is impossible. I used high quality Virginia ham and had the deli slice it as thin as possible. It worked great. I made this in the crockpot - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
What a great find!! I haven't had this since I was a kid and was really glad to find such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Yins are gonna love 'ese chipped ham barbecues. Perfect for watching them Stillers play football on the Norside of dahntahn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
We really loved this, a couple of modifications...I added some diced onion and Tobasco sauce. I used garlic powder and no salt. We thought it was a little sweet, so I put in a little mustard before adding the ham. I'll cut the sugar in half next time. Will definitely make this again, maybe tomorrow! We have a lot of leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This is great! Having had (and loved) chip-chopped ham in Pittsburgh, this brings back memories. I had another, simpler recipe using Heinz chili sauce and brown sugar, but this is better! Thanks for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
These sandwiches are awesome!!! I left out the liquid smoke flavoring since I could not find it in the store. I froze individual portions in sandwich bags. They are easy to thaw and taste just as good as the day they were made. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This is really yummy! I made the sauce the night before, then heated everything up in a crock-pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
As a native Pittsburgher, I really enjoyed this recipe...my mom used to make something similar (but not as good)! Very tasty on a cold night and super easy. I served this with Chuck's Mac and Cheese from this site. Thanks Marcia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States