Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I grew up in Pittsburgh--and remember these sandwiches from the Shaler High lunchroom as well as the Burchfield Elementary lunchroom where I taught. Funny, as we are getting ready for the Super Bowl today, I thought of chipped ham barbecue sandwiches. A must for today's menu!! but I don't remember my mom adding liquid smoke when she made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
My husband is a native Pittsburger and has been talking about these sandwiches for 25 years. I can't wait to make these for the Superbowl. GO STEELERS!!!!Does anyone happen to have the "Pleasure Bar" pizza recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
A Pittsburgh tradition! And ohhhhhhh so good. Have to buy Isaly's Chipped Ham to be authentic though! Will be on a lot of Super Bowl tables this weekend. Go Steelers!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I grew up on chipped ham barbecues in the Pittsburgh area. We had them at home, at school and at church club. My husband had never heard of chipped ham and I couldn't wait to make these for him. Thank you so much for posting this recipe and Allrecipes for giving the nod to this Pittsburgh favorite in honor of the superbowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. It tasted wonderful and was so easy to make. We had these with the Tuscan Bean Soup on here and it went great together! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
WOO HOO! Finally a recipe that tasted just as I remembered it! I added a tbsp of grape jelly b/c I was told my uncle used to do the same thing, but kept everything else the same. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Smelled delicious as it was simmering, and tasted the same. Family loved it. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Can't say enough! Easy and tasty. I've shared this recipe with co-workers who had to suffer through me heating leftovers at work. Everyone loves it. I did add a bit of finely diced onion. I haven't added the liquid smoke as our grocery store doesn't carry it and I can't remember to check any others. My SO would prefer we have these once a week...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Even if you are not from the Pittsburgh area-you have to give these a try! Easy to make and ohhhh so good! Thin sliced or deli "chipped" that is how they actually sell the meat in the Pittsburgh area-which is just ham shaved pretty much-work the best-go the farthest as well, but you can just use sliced ham from the deli as well. Tavern, honey, smoked, all are good-experiment to see which you like best. To be honest-we have liked them all and don't really have a favorite! Go Steelers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Awsome recipie. This is just as good if not better than the Islays sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States