Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This recipe reminded us of Harvey Ham Sandwiches (which were a lot easier to make). Still, we liked the taste and could see how the sandwich would have a faithful following. Thanks for a taste of your town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I hate to be the lone dissenter but, these were just your average bbq ham sandwiches. From all the raves I was expecting something more. I think I'll just keep making my bbq sandwiches with Saz's bbq sauce to keep things quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I love this recipe. I make it for family get togethers, and everyone loves them! I use Dill relish instead of sweet relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
OH MY GOSH! I can't believe I stumbled across this recipe. What memories. Our recipe is the same except we do not use cinnamon or liquid smoke, although I am going to try the liquid smoke. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
It's a Pittsburgh thing. This is better than Isaly's. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
My husband and I are originally from The Burgh and I have to say that aside from the sweet relish ( which I omitted after the 1st time) is right on the money. The sauce is very much like Isaly'S.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I haven't made these yet, but I know they are going to be great. I grew up in Castle Shannon right outside of Pgh. and remember being surprised when I was a kid that I liked the barbecues when I found out there was relish in them. I have been buying jars of the Isaly's barbecue sauce for my barbecues but have been wanting to make a homemade batch. Thanks so much for the authentic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I live in Pgh now, but I didn't grow up here. Knowing how particular Pittsburghers can be about their ham bbq, I was nervous to try making it myself. But, I made your recipe, and all my hubby's relatives (natives)have absolutely RAVED about it, saying it is the best they've had. It made me proud, so thanks a ton! That was 2 years ago, and I still make it often. I make it exactly as written, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I can't believe this recipie is on here! I'm from State College, PA, but my parents were from south of Pittsburgh so I had LOTS of these as a child. I just might make them for my hubby tonight! I never added liquid smoke either - in fact I think we just put ketcup and relish, although I'm not sure. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Being a Pittsburgh native, I grew up on Isaly's chipped ham barbcue sandwhiches...adding a slice of american cheese and a little more Heinz sweet-pickle relish. This recipe is right on....taking me back many years....Thank You Marcie for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States