Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This makes for a very tasty ham sandwich, and I've gotten a lot of compliments with it. I make it in a slow cooker, but it tends to be very watery and creates a soggy bun. I reduce the water to just 1/4 cup. The water in the ham keeps it from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I'm from Pittsburgh and this recipe brought me back home...we used to use Isley's chipped ham to make these when I was a kid. This recipe is very good but another way to make it is equal parts chili sauce and ketchup then add bar-b-que sauce to taste. Thank you for this recipe! Now I'm homesick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I never heard of this til I married a Pittsburgher. My M-I-L uses spicy ketsup and I make it 1/2 spicy and 1/2 regular ketsup and put it in the crock pot on low for about three hours. I'm from Philly so I serve on Amoroso's steak rolls. Easy, yummy and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is the best I've tasted. DO NOT change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Newton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
A favorite cold day sandwich here in Western Pennsylvania.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Great for a crowd! Liquid smoke is a great flavor.... a definite keeper. Yinz gotta try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKAJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This recipe reminded us of Harvey Ham Sandwiches (which were a lot easier to make). Still, we liked the taste and could see how the sandwich would have a faithful following. Thanks for a taste of your town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I hate to be the lone dissenter but, these were just your average bbq ham sandwiches. From all the raves I was expecting something more. I think I'll just keep making my bbq sandwiches with Saz's bbq sauce to keep things quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I love this recipe. I make it for family get togethers, and everyone loves them! I use Dill relish instead of sweet relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
OH MY GOSH! I can't believe I stumbled across this recipe. What memories. Our recipe is the same except we do not use cinnamon or liquid smoke, although I am going to try the liquid smoke. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States