Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I'm sorry. I am born and raised Pittsburgh and this just doesn't do the trick. My daughter wouldn't even eat it. The cinnamon was totally new to me. Thanks for bringing Pittsburgh into the light, but there should be a better representation of our ham barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Sweet and tangy. Delicious. I'm not from Pittsburgh and I don't like ketchup or sweet relish but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Going to cook up the Chipped Ham BBQ this Sunday. Need something to eat while the Denver Broncos are eating the Steelers for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I am originally from pittsburgh and this recipe is ok but none will ever compare to dubque ham, which you can get at any grocery or deli in pittsburgh. chipped only of course, isleys is not only place this is available its the brand and method of cutting that is important
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Labelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I make this for my family often. Our local store puts Isaly's chipped ham on sale about twice a month and this recipe is fantastic. The only change I made was to brown the ham in a frying pan until the edges get crispy. I never have leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Everyone liked it. Just like I grew up with.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Not a burgher but we loved this and will make it again for sure. I think I will try it with chipped smoked turkey next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These ham barbecues are just like the ones my granny made with Isaly's chipped ham!!! For those of you that are not 'Burghers, be sure to use pressed or boiled ham, and I learned that the translation in Chicago for chipped is shaved! MMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
We r from Pgh.. don't live there now so can't get the Islay's but as every1 else suggested just asked for thin sliced or shaved ham. I make it in a crock pot: layering meat, bbq sauce,lil ketchup, sprinkle brown sugar, relish, lil mustard.. just keep layering & stirring & then let all flavors combine on low til warm. Not an actual "recipe" cuz it's all by taste, in our family for years! I made 'em up here in northern NY & no1 had ever had anything like them. Pgh original anyway u make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyOf5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
What a great find! My husband and I both are originally from the Burg. We will be having this while watching the Steelers in the Super Bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham, & Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States