Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I grew up on Chipped Ham Barbecues. I was a little leary of the cinnamon and now wish I'd left it out. This was pretty good, but the cinnamon just didn't do it for me. The tangy-sweet and slightly smoky flavors are plenty, but the cinnamon was overkill. Next time I will leave it out. I also wish I'd had another 1/4 lb of ham to throw in as there was too much sauce letover. Thanks for a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
back home, about 40 minutes from PGH, we refered to this as chip chop ham. It's is a staple in many homes in the area. Can't wait to make it for Super Bowl!!! Thanks for bringing back an awesome memory from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I friend gave me this recipe. My hubbuy & son are very picky eaters, they both love bbq chipped ham. But once I tried this recipe they ask for it often. I make it no less than twice a month.The only difference is I put it in the crock pot on high for 3-4 hrs. Turns out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jay-nice74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Way too salty. Maybe I could rinse the chipped ham, but I feel my blood pressure rising. I will try other recipes to see if they fit the bill of real chipped ham sandwiches,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I'm sorry. I am born and raised Pittsburgh and this just doesn't do the trick. My daughter wouldn't even eat it. The cinnamon was totally new to me. Thanks for bringing Pittsburgh into the light, but there should be a better representation of our ham barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Sweet and tangy. Delicious. I'm not from Pittsburgh and I don't like ketchup or sweet relish but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Going to cook up the Chipped Ham BBQ this Sunday. Need something to eat while the Denver Broncos are eating the Steelers for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I am originally from pittsburgh and this recipe is ok but none will ever compare to dubque ham, which you can get at any grocery or deli in pittsburgh. chipped only of course, isleys is not only place this is available its the brand and method of cutting that is important
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Labelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I make this for my family often. Our local store puts Isaly's chipped ham on sale about twice a month and this recipe is fantastic. The only change I made was to brown the ham in a frying pan until the edges get crispy. I never have leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Everyone liked it. Just like I grew up with.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States