Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
My husband is from Pittsburgh (I am not) and said this is better than anything he had growing up. I never had it before tonight but it was tasty. Chipped ham was on sale at Karn's this week for $2.99/lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Much better than what my Mother made. I'm convinced she just warmed up ketchup and worcestershire sauce. This has a slight tang with a pleasant sweetness. I skipped the liquid smoke though. It has too strong of a taste for us. We loved it otherwise. Very simple too and economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This recipe is awesome. You can probably leave out the relish, according to your taste. Although, if you can't obtain Isaly's chopped ham, use regular ham. It's not the same--nowhere close--but there isn't any other company who can make chopped ham worth eating. And no, Patsy, chipped ham isn't just shaved ham... It's shaved chopped ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Worked in a Isaly's in Clairton. Don't think I can find chipped chopped ham in New Orleans. Finding.this recipe is going to make me go out and find something close to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackinaJeep

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clairton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Love this recipe. I am constantly asked to make this for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I was raised with these ham bbq sandwiches. My Mother always said you had to use Isaly's chipped ham. That was the secret ingredient. I have been in the Navy for many years, it goes without saying my family moved every three years. The minute I left Pittsburgh, I left ISALY'S chipped ham. Now you can get shaved, you can get it cut thin, but that's the point, make sure you get it sliced as thin as possible, considering your not using Isaly's, you make do with what you have in your area/State. These are quick to make, and are a hit at gatherings like picnics, or when you have a lot of people coming over. My kids like them even more the next day, which Im guessing because all flavors have had time to merry. I strongly encourage people out there to try these. It is different, but they are really yummy! Have a nice winter everyone, Im sure here in ND wont be any different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I love BBQ and had a ham to get rid of, so I thought I'd try this. Imagining all these ingredients together made me cringe, but the result was phenomenal! I can't get enough of this stuff and will be making a second batch this weekend. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsie Price

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
So glad I found this recipe! Was looking for something different to use up left over ham. Very very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This was really simple to put together and used things I normally keep on hand. I used mesquite smoked deli shaved ham and mesquite liquid smoke. This had a bit of a bite and was tangy. I didn't care for the pickle flavor though. The sauce was runny and much too thin for my liking. This barbecue sauce had an off flavor like it needed something to balance it out. Overall it was alright but I probably won't fix this particular recipe again. Thanks for sharing though as I always love trying out a new recipe and dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
YES! A taste of home on a bun! Recently moved to East Texas and let me start by saying it was quite the ordeal explaining to the deli employee what chipped ham was :| and how to shave it thin enough :| I crave the tastes of "Da Burgh" and this hit the spot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States