Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
PbA, thx for the tip about microwaving the shrooms b4hand to dejuice them. I actually made both pita and tortilla pizzas, since I had both items on-hand, and honestly i liked the pitas way better. they ended up crunchy & the tortillas didnt. PS.they have whole wheat & multi-grain pita pockets now. I baked mine at 350, 20 mins. And I also split my pita pocket and made two out of one. It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
You can also bake these in the oven/toaster oven, skipping the olive oil, and they are delicious. I'm a vegetarian so I add tofu "chicken" and veggies with soy cheese. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Be CAREFUL! I have a charcoal grill and I guess I had too many coals... these babies got scorched on the bottom in no time flat. Other than that, they're great :) I'm going to make them again with less charcoal this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
We used to make these at the summer camp I worked at a couple of years ago! The kids loved them. We would roast them over a campfire during out trips using 'Y-sticks'. The ingredients were a little different, no oil, just cheese, pepperoni, sauce, green peppers, etc. I have to say, the fire really gave a great smokey flavour. These would be great on any camping trip, at the cottage fire pit, or even in your own backyard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Have been making these for a while now. Easy and fun to make. I put the pita in the oven on 350 until crisp and cheese is melted, about 15 to 20 min. Toppings are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Love this!! Sooo easy, just make sure you don't forget about it, I burned one to a crisp once. But otherwise they are so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SallyStitches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Excellent quick meal with a salad. I added fresh basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamahhi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I used to make these in the oven. Now that it is summertime, I was wondering if I could do these on the grill! I usually use my own sauce (or a good jarred one if I don't have time) mozzarella, onion, pepper, black olives, oregano, and pepperoni. I don't oil either side or the grill and did not have a problem. This is also a great recipe to use up all those left over veggies or meat. Mine took about 10 minutes on a medium heat grill. I don't think I am going to go back to making these in the oven! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I always have wheat pitas on hand and was looking for something different to do w/ them. Boy were my daughters and I pleased w/ this idea!! My 3 yr old niece was so happy with herself, because she made her own dinner:-) We used store bought sauce, a slice of provolone cheese, turkey-pepperoni, caned portabella mushrooms, topped w/ low-fat feta cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I love Pita Bread in general, therefore, I love this Idea. My advice is to keep in mind what you like and lay it on there. I also recommend to try out a Pita Chips Recipe and if desired, find a dip to go with it, great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States