Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
We loved this. Simple, easy, and since I love crispy thin crust pizza, this ended up being just perfect to me. Instead of tomato sauce, we did it the old fashioned Italian way and put sliced tomatoes, also onion, garlic, some slices of mozzarella, basil and oregano and some salt and pepper flakes. It was delish. My husband has been nagging me for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is 5 star as written, but it is also great in the oven (using Pam instead of olive oil). I also make it veggie style with mushrooms, tomatoes and broccoli. Hubby likes it with bacon, bell pepper and tomatoes. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
We LOVE this recipe. I usually get a jar of tomato sauce and spice it up with minced garlic and tony's (a creole seasoning we use in the south) for a yummy kick. I get this shredded cheese mix, I think it's like 5 cheese Italian or something, and it has mozz., asiago, parm, provolone, and something else I can't remember. And then we put whatever toppings: pepperoni, mushrooms, zucchini, eggplant, anything we are in the mood for that day! Before we assemble them, I brush the pitas with olive oil on both sides and garlic powder on the side with toppings...makes it extra pizza-crusty. Then we pop them on the grill until they're nice and crispy. SO much like pizza! OH ALSO--get the whole wheat pitas...makes a big difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Thank you for this recipe! You are brilliant. I have been trying to find a pizza recipe I could make at home and this is now my go to recipe. It was delicious and low in fat. I used Pomi chopped tomatoes which I always stock up on in my pantry. The cremini mushrooms were a perfect choice. I added olives, red onion, red pepper, fresh basil. I served it with grilled corn and a nice salad. A perfect light healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious, simple, & easy to customize to your liking. I used whole wheat tortillas, and my nephews used pitas and they were all yummy, nice & crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This has become my "go-to" recipe when we are in the mood for pizza, but do not feel like running after take-out....(I live in the country, unfortunatly no delivery). My family each customize the pizza and put on our favorite toppings. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
These were delicious. My family really enjoyed this. This was the first time I every cooked pizza on the grill and it won’t be the last. I used Boboli mini 8” pizza crust. Everyone through it was fun fixing their own pizza. I sautéed some onions, green peppers, fresh mushrooms and fresh baby spinach on my pizza, put it on the grill the crust was nice and crusty, it was just delicious. Like other viewer said, I will probably not order pizza again, at least not in the summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I was craving pizza, but living in a place where it gets super hot outside, I didn't want to leave the comfort of central A/C. I pulled out the ingredients, which I always have on hand, made a salad, and my husband and I had a great dinner. Definitely hit the spot. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Hah! What an awesomely quick and slightly healthier way to have pizza! Don't have a grill so made them in the oven. 350 degrees for about 15 minutes does the trick. Made some with zucchini and some with mushrooms and both turned out yummy. You could add just about any topping you like to these. Ill keep this recipe in mind for a quick lunch and or snack! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States