Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was a hit with my family. Everyone got to add their favorite ingredients to make their own perfect pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
for a even thinner (almost cracker-like) crust, slice the pita in half crosswise so you have 2 rounds. then bake them until slightly golden and crisp. add sauce, cheese, any toppings you want and back again to melt the cheese. enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Quick and easy dinner for a busy night. I also use bagels when I am out of Pita Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This was great! I let the kids put their own toppings on their "mini" pizzas. My only suggestion would be to buy a pizza cutter, the crust gets so so crispy it is tough to cut with a knife and not lose the cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Wow - I really didn't think the pita would be such a good pizza crust! It was much better than any thin crust pizza I have had before. This is such a versatile recipe -so this is how I made it my own. I used whole wheat tortillas, sprayed with fat free cooking oil, huge spoonfuls of tomato paste, big chunks of fresh garlic, left over grilled chicken that I cut into big bite sized pieces, red onions that I already had chopped from before, fat-free mozarella and cheddar shredded cheese, and dried basil, oregano, and parsley. Put it in the grill for 6-7 minutes (had to wait for the cheese to melt). It was FANTASTIC. I kept a few pitas on hand so I can change up the ingredients for the next batch. Thanks Mindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Abell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This recipe gave me the great idea to use a pita for pizza crust. I just made a regular pizza with cheese & peppers. I then placed it on the grill. It turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Euclid, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
This is a great idea. I was going to toss my leftover pitas until I found this recipe. Perfect for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Great little pizzas. Super easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
WOW! Used whole wheat pitas, left off the oil, sauteed mushrooms and onions with garlic powder in a little butter, and used them. Added diced tomatoes. Fabulous! Did a second time using ranch dressing as sauce, shredded cooked chicken, tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms and cheese. Hubby says best pizza crust he's ever had! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
I'm giving this 5 stars, even though I changed the recipe. I just love finding a way to have pizza, if you want to eat whole grains instead of white flour. I think this is more low carb than having regular pizza as well. I may try using a pita in the future but I've been making this recipe using whole wheat tortillas. Instead of grilling them, I put them on aluminum foil on a cookie sheet. Then I spread a little olive oil on top, then red sauce, shredded lowfat mozzarella, & then whatever I want as a topping. I bake them at 350 degrees for about 15 to 20 minutes. Even though they're thin, you actually can pick them up to eat them like pizza slices. I've topped them at various times with fresh sliced mushrooms (which I've microwaved for a couple minutes 1st & drained so they wouldn't be too watery on the pizza), zucchini slices (partially microwaved 1st), & cooked drained ground meat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States