Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A very simple recipe that is so quick to make. Used Greek style pitas that have no pocket, so there was no danger of them puffing up in the oven. Cooked in the oven at 350 instead of out on the grill in the cold and snow. Easy to adapt to the preferences of each family member. I wonder if the oil was really necessary, though. I think next time I will try to make it healthier and lower calorie by using whole wheat pitas, leaving out the oil, and adding lots of fresh veggies. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe is my son's favorite. I tend to bake it most of the time, because it's too cold to grill outside right now, but it's just as good baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great idea for a quick meal. I made a barbeque chicken pizza. Spread BBQ over pita then top with cut up chicken, bacon bits on onion. Then top with mozzarela cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is an awesome basic recipe. I made a family night out of it and each of the kids showed their artistic abilities. I put a whole bunch of different toppings and let the kids make their own and it was a blast. We now do this at least once a month. Thank you so much for the idea and the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
As with any other type of homemade pizza, by the time you buy the pitas, sauce, cheese, meat, & veggies, you are looking at a very expensive meal. But it is always fun for everyone to make their own creations, especially the kids. We tried grilling it a couple of different ways and found the best way is to grill for about 30 secs-1 minute on one side of the pita, then take it off the grill and load the cooked side with the toppings, then place back on the grill for a few more minutes til the cheese is melted. Will definitely make this again, although next time I might try doing it potluck style with some friends and have everyone bring a couple of ingredients to help bring down the cost. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I make these when I can find pitas on the clearance rack at my local grocery store. I like mine with EVOO, garlic, fresh basil, tomatoes and fresh parmesan. The kids are a little more traditional with homemade pizza sauce, pepperoni and italian blend cheese. It really is the best on the grill, but it tastes pretty good just out from under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
So easy and delicious! I cant believe i never thought to do this myself. I love pita, and i love pizza, so the two go naturally together. You can easily improvise to taste as well, add mushrooms, or pepperoni, onions, whatever you want! Love it, definitely will make this again on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a totally awesome recipe for our young family. The kids loved this, we did ours vege and their's mozz only. I was so full, I couldn't believe my son ate 3! My daughter help prepare, so SIMPLE! Delicious, surprisingly just as yummy as reg. pizza! I wish I had found this years ago! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
mmmmm, tasts better than regular pizza. You choose if you want a soft or crispy crust. I don't know why I didn't think of this before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very Nice. you can change the toppings to everyone likes and it is easy to make. Will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States