Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Have been making these for a while now. Easy and fun to make. I put the pita in the oven on 350 until crisp and cheese is melted, about 15 to 20 min. Toppings are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Love this!! Sooo easy, just make sure you don't forget about it, I burned one to a crisp once. But otherwise they are so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SallyStitches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Excellent quick meal with a salad. I added fresh basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamahhi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I used to make these in the oven. Now that it is summertime, I was wondering if I could do these on the grill! I usually use my own sauce (or a good jarred one if I don't have time) mozzarella, onion, pepper, black olives, oregano, and pepperoni. I don't oil either side or the grill and did not have a problem. This is also a great recipe to use up all those left over veggies or meat. Mine took about 10 minutes on a medium heat grill. I don't think I am going to go back to making these in the oven! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I always have wheat pitas on hand and was looking for something different to do w/ them. Boy were my daughters and I pleased w/ this idea!! My 3 yr old niece was so happy with herself, because she made her own dinner:-) We used store bought sauce, a slice of provolone cheese, turkey-pepperoni, caned portabella mushrooms, topped w/ low-fat feta cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I love Pita Bread in general, therefore, I love this Idea. My advice is to keep in mind what you like and lay it on there. I also recommend to try out a Pita Chips Recipe and if desired, find a dip to go with it, great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I omit the olive oil and place the pitas on a cookie sheet. Pop in the oven at 400* for about 10 minutes to crisp them "crust" up. We have a pizza bar full of toppings and everyone makes there own. Place them back in the oven for another 10 minutes. VIOLA! Personal pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmendorf Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
My husband had little confidence when he first heard that I used pita for the pizza "dough." However, we both were pleasantly pleased with the results. My husband actually kept talking about how great it was. It is also great for us since it is always hard to stay eat healthy portions when a large pizza is present. These are perfectly sized for a smart portion. Oh, I also added toppings and baked it rather than grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortcake3210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A very simple recipe that is so quick to make. Used Greek style pitas that have no pocket, so there was no danger of them puffing up in the oven. Cooked in the oven at 350 instead of out on the grill in the cold and snow. Easy to adapt to the preferences of each family member. I wonder if the oil was really necessary, though. I think next time I will try to make it healthier and lower calorie by using whole wheat pitas, leaving out the oil, and adding lots of fresh veggies. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe is my son's favorite. I tend to bake it most of the time, because it's too cold to grill outside right now, but it's just as good baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Pizza on the Grill

See why a conventional oven just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States