Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
These are great! I changed the toppings a bit, adding parmesan cheese, fresh basil, roasted red peppers and grilled asparagus. I cut each pita pizza into 6 pieces and served them at a party. We thought the crust tasted exactly like those we found on pizzas we ate in Italy. It was amazing...my friends couldn't believe that the "crust" was pita pockets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Good starter recipe. Decided to add my own toppings and was a hit. Great for a quick lunch or dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This is a great ans versitile recipie, you can also just take the pita and brush it with olive oil and add toppings or instead replace tomato sauce with alfredo. I used to make thesse for my high school lunch topped with all kinda of healthy steamed veggies and motzerella cheese. This is not for an elegant dinner, just a change from the plain old turkey sandwhich for bag lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I buy pita bread from Costco that is absolutely wonderful and used it with this recipe. Since I was making it for my picky 5 year old, I had to skip all of the special toppings and just use spaghetti sauce and cheese. He still prefers Domino's but when were pressed for time, this will work. Thanks for the wonderful idea Cheryl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I love idea of this. I topped the pita breads with our favourite pizza toppings rather than what was suggested and baked until the bread was crisp & cheese bubbly. Great for lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Yummy and easy to make on the grill. Loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This is a great recipe! I loved using pita breads, it made a perfect crust. I used whole-wheat pitas and pizza sauce from Trader Joe's. I love blue cheese, but Dh doesn't, so on his pizza I used feta. The blue cheese tasted great with the other ingredients. I used jarred roasted red peppers (chopped) instead of pimentos. This is something I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Great idea! Pitas made a crispy crust and we used left over spaghetti sauce. We put the pizzas on the grill to toast the crust and moved it off the flame but left the grill lid closed to bake the cheese and toppings. Perfect for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
These little pizzas are just fabulous! Try these tips though: first, purchase the thinnest pita breads you can find, and pre-toast them, rather than just warm them, in a 400 degree oven. Let them get ever so slightly crisped before topping them. This will result in a much better crust. Second, you can make your own pizza sauce which is much more flavorful than plain tomato sauce. Mix a small can of roasted garlic tomato paste with an 8 ounce can of roasted garlic tomato sauce. It is the perfect pizza sauce in both flavor and consistency, suitable for ANY pizza recipe. These little pizzas were really divine, an excellent appetizer for a party when cut into quarters. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
super fast n easy, i've made pesto chicken pizza and spicy salsa chicken pizza. Will make again next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States