Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Great idea! Pitas made a crispy crust and we used left over spaghetti sauce. We put the pizzas on the grill to toast the crust and moved it off the flame but left the grill lid closed to bake the cheese and toppings. Perfect for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This is a great recipe! I loved using pita breads, it made a perfect crust. I used whole-wheat pitas and pizza sauce from Trader Joe's. I love blue cheese, but Dh doesn't, so on his pizza I used feta. The blue cheese tasted great with the other ingredients. I used jarred roasted red peppers (chopped) instead of pimentos. This is something I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Yummy and easy to make on the grill. Loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I love idea of this. I topped the pita breads with our favourite pizza toppings rather than what was suggested and baked until the bread was crisp & cheese bubbly. Great for lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I buy pita bread from Costco that is absolutely wonderful and used it with this recipe. Since I was making it for my picky 5 year old, I had to skip all of the special toppings and just use spaghetti sauce and cheese. He still prefers Domino's but when were pressed for time, this will work. Thanks for the wonderful idea Cheryl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This is a great ans versitile recipie, you can also just take the pita and brush it with olive oil and add toppings or instead replace tomato sauce with alfredo. I used to make thesse for my high school lunch topped with all kinda of healthy steamed veggies and motzerella cheese. This is not for an elegant dinner, just a change from the plain old turkey sandwhich for bag lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Good starter recipe. Decided to add my own toppings and was a hit. Great for a quick lunch or dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
These are great! I changed the toppings a bit, adding parmesan cheese, fresh basil, roasted red peppers and grilled asparagus. I cut each pita pizza into 6 pieces and served them at a party. We thought the crust tasted exactly like those we found on pizzas we ate in Italy. It was amazing...my friends couldn't believe that the "crust" was pita pockets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States