Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Used this as a base recipe for cinnamon sugar pita chips. Used leftovers from homemade pita (Peppy's pita bread), double quartered pita bread, lightly covered with olive oil (about 2 tbsp for 2 pita), heavy on the cinnamon and sugar and a touch of salt. Baked at 350 for about 7 minutes. REsults: crunchy and slightly chewy sweet/salty bites. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
These pita chips are much better than the store bought pita chips, plus they're very easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. I served mine with homemade hummus and they were great together. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Finally, a great pita chip recipe. I used cooking spray instead of olive oil and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These were very good-- I served them with the dill/feta/garlic cheese spread (the recipe was from this site, also) and they were a hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
These were very tasty. As others have noted, the recipe doesn't clarify if you cut the pita in half lengthwise, and then cut into 8 pieces. I cut the pita itself in half and then 4 pieces each half, so I had double-sided pita chips. As others said, you'll want to cook for 15 minutes, turning once, to get crispy chips. HOWEVER, I think I would have preferred the thinner chips. It's also a good idea to invest in an oil sprayer - if you brush too much of the mixture on the pita, it won't cook off, and any leftover chips will get mushy. I really loved these, though, I will make again! Next time I'll sprinkle with some Parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
thank you for the perfect delish recipe!! i ate them ALL :( hahaha! will use low calorie oil from now on :) and less oil as possible. i also made half of the chips with sprinkled on Parmesan with bells seasoning, basil, onion salt, and garlic; cut real small, cooked until almost overcooked.... wow! good... whole wheat kangaroo pitas (good for you)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiGGoNZo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Fantastic! I lightly brushed some olive oil on the pita. (I used much less than 1/2 cup in total - but next time I will just spray the pita with PAM). I sprinkled it with zaatar seasoning and placed the pitas on the grill for 4 minutes per side. It was a great with our BBQ dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Quick, Easy and tasty. I added a little more garlic, onion power and used parsley instead of Chervil since that is what I had on hand. Will make these again. It was a great way to use up left over pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuarinoMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
These were delicious! Unlike packaged chips, you can put only as much of the oil mixture on as you want to. I guess you could use parsley if you don't have chervil, but my roommate had some and she said it is better, so I used it. I only had one pita pocket left over from falafels a few weeks before, so I cut it up into pretty small pieces, 3 trays worth for my little toaster oven, to be exact. Actually I bought my toaster oven at a thrift shop so it didn't come with a tray. I made my own out of a piece of aluminum foil turned up at the edges. These little pieces are good for salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Opened the pita up and cut in half. Dredged the halves through the seasoned oil mixture then cut into wedges. Baked 5 minutes on one side, turned them over and baked 5 more minutes on that side. After dredging in the oil, allow pita to drip, when the oil heats up in the oven it will get runny so be prepared to drain the cookie sheet or have a pan underneath the sheet to catch any oil that might spill over. They vanish and those that don't still keep well in a plastic bag. Yum! Yum! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States